Okonomiyaki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
I love this, and I usually put strips of bacon on the pan and pur the batter over that so the bacon gets crispy. My favorite sauce is mayo (Japanese kind are the best!) and tonkatsu sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
Such a nice light meal. Fun dish to make with whatever ingredients you have on hand. The tonkatsu sauce was perfect on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibiharuka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I loved this recipe because it was full of healthy veggies. I thought it needed some salt so I may add more soy sauce or add about half a teaspoon next time. It was great with Tonkatsu sauce, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
This was okay. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
I made this for my family last night and everyone loved it. I am not a great cook, but it was very easy. My kids asked for seconds and my husband actually said he could eat this for dinner every night. Thanks so much for this recipe. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
I see so much potential in this dish. I love that there's so many vegetables. But the batter was too doughy and there wasn't enough flavor. I have seen other okonomiyaki recipes using dashi and yakisoba. That sounds more flavorful and I will try those recipes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
Not a very authentic okonomiyaki... the reason so many people find the batter bland is because you need to use okonomiyaki flour (a specially seasoned flour) for this... which can be found at most Asian grocers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lea Eats

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Viera, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
This is an excellent dish but as stated before, it is better with Okonomiyaki Flour, which is seasoned. If you cannot find the flour, you can add a little seasoning salt to the flour to make it better. Though that is not exactly the same it will help the flavor of the batter significantly. Also, a traditional topping for Okonomiyaki is flaked dried bonito and a sauce that is very much like tonkatsu sauce. Many also like to add cupi (Japanese Mayonase)... Replacing the chicken with cooked shrimp or cooked, thinly sliced beef will make a few other good variations on the meal. Good Stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GIBLERTFINCH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Hi,I wanted to share mine.I am a Japanese and,I thought that I could help others to make more authentic one. my mom used to use corn kennel,shredded cabbage,shredded carrots,Chikuwa(you can find at Asian store but this is optional),ham, and bit cooked meat ;beef or pork (not ground,not chicken).Other people suggested to buy Okonomiyaki Flour but you do not need it.You can use just All Purpose flour. To make batter,put all vegies and meat and pour flour and add water and make batter and consistency is about not too watery not too thick like pancake batter..I usually eyeball it but you can start from 3table spoon of flour and 2 table spoon water etc.. but you need batter to the amount it can cover veggie and meat.Then,I use vegitable oil and just like you make pancake,you cook it flipping after one side done.Then, splash worcestersauce and cook some seconds and off to your plate.Mix ketchup and worcestersauce;ratio I think 4:6(I eyeball it,but to your taste is fine) and brush this over okonomiyaki and eat.Some people back home in japan drizzle mayo after you take okonomiyaki out to plate and drizzle worcester sauce and sprinkle crushed seaweed on it.You do not need okonomiyaki sauce or tonkatsu sauce.It still tastes good.Until you figure out water and flour ration to make batter is kind of practice but you will learn as you cook. I am sorry I could not provide measurement of batter but next time I make, I try to see how much I am pouring water and flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
328 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
It was pretty good but not my cup of tea. Easy to make but kind of messy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How To Make Tempura

Learn the Japanese method for making delicate batter-fried seafood and veggies.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Making Spicy Tuna Rolls

Learn how to make spicy tuna sushi rolls at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States