Oklahoma Indian Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Haven't tried it yet, but fully intend to. Tammy M, there are beans in a can labeled RANCH STYLE BEANS. They are usually w/ the beans, on the top shelf where you really have to look for them. I find them at our local Kroger and Publix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Amazing!! I only used 1 lb hamburger meat not 2 and it was plenty everything else I kept the same! They were better than the state fair I thought!!! Thanks for the recipe it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Fry bread- easy and delish! Everything was really good -- just wasn't sure about "chili meat" on my taco. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I have used this recipe several times now and my family loves it. Our guests always comment "it's a fun change". It's also Soooo... easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
My moms side of the family is Native American and we just call this indian fry bread and we use pork and call it chili pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
The meat sauce - I winged it. Used chili beans -they worked great. And used my canned salsa for all of the tomotoes... and used my own taco seasoning blend... but the star of this is the dough! Wow so good and easy. Definitely will be a staple in our house. BTW 2 cups self rising flour = 2 cups flour, 2 2/3 baking powder, 2/3 tsp of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
what about the other can of diced tomatoes and the green chilis?? I assume they go in the hamburger mixture?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I wish there was a place to ask questions without posting a rating. I've never heard of ranch style beans - what kind of beans are they? Black beans or baked beans? This recipe sounds delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melrose Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Vernon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I'm giving this a 5 star because I cannot give it a 4. for flavor. BUT... since it gave me such a great flash-back to many wonderful moments in the past, this recipe quickly wins back that half-point. I had to make this... Not bad at all. I think the ranch-style beans is what brought this recipe to the top of the pile of other recipes I have tried. (Funny, but I never considered this as the missing ingredient...) I used Penzey's Bold Taco seasoning for the first time, too. The flavors were definitely there, but I do prefer the Indian tacos in which the dough is a yeast-raised dough. Somehow, that seems to fry up even better! Probably because it makes this entire dish taste like a fabulously wonderful, savory donut. (I use all-purpose flour rather than self-rising, add sugar to make a slightly sweet dough, and used peanut oil or good ol' lard to deep-fry 'em all up!) My next favorite version of this recipe is just the deep-fried dough (yeast-raised!) smothered with a dried wild blueberry sauce (Standing Rock Tribe, Sioux Nation of the Dakotas). That was served on Thursdays when I was working at For Yates, ND. Thank you very much, Melanie2008, for bringing back such wonderful memories of great food as well as great fellowship.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Borderbumble

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Habra, California, USA
Living In: Kenai, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I'm white and my husband is native. We've had these often. I always joke about making "white-man's fry bread." I just use thawed frozen bread dough. Grab a little ball of it, stretch it out and fry it up. Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Smoked Sausage Tacos

Put a simple smoked-sausage twist on taco night.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States