Oklahoma Indian Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2015
I've made these for Many many years. I was taught by a wonder and beautiful Native American (Choctaw) she taught me to make it with yeast bread. Takes a lot longer but has a sweeter taste goes great with the chili seasoning and ranch style beans. Worth the extra time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Jo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Made this recipe for my husband since he loves Indian tacos and they were a hit with him. He can be kinda picky but they were perfect the first time I tried making them. I used crisco instead of the oil for frying. I also didn't have self rising flour so I made my own out of regular flour, salt and baking powder. Also didn't put tomatoes in while cooking we like them raw with the crunch in tact. We put sour cream on top with lettuce and cheese and all the fixings. Mmm very delicious recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Made this last night and it was very good. The kids asked for second helpings! Because we have kids, I made it a little less spicy by using mild chili seasoning instead of spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Haven't tried it yet, but fully intend to. Tammy M, there are beans in a can labeled RANCH STYLE BEANS. They are usually w/ the beans, on the top shelf where you really have to look for them. I find them at our local Kroger and Publix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Amazing!! I only used 1 lb hamburger meat not 2 and it was plenty everything else I kept the same! They were better than the state fair I thought!!! Thanks for the recipe it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Fry bread- easy and delish! Everything was really good -- just wasn't sure about "chili meat" on my taco. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I have used this recipe several times now and my family loves it. Our guests always comment "it's a fun change". It's also Soooo... easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
My moms side of the family is Native American and we just call this indian fry bread and we use pork and call it chili pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
The meat sauce - I winged it. Used chili beans -they worked great. And used my canned salsa for all of the tomotoes... and used my own taco seasoning blend... but the star of this is the dough! Wow so good and easy. Definitely will be a staple in our house. BTW 2 cups self rising flour = 2 cups flour, 2 2/3 baking powder, 2/3 tsp of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
what about the other can of diced tomatoes and the green chilis?? I assume they go in the hamburger mixture?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Smoked Sausage Tacos

Put a simple smoked-sausage twist on taco night.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States