Oklahoma Indian Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Amazing!! I only used 1 lb hamburger meat not 2 and it was plenty everything else I kept the same! They were better than the state fair I thought!!! Thanks for the recipe it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Fry bread- easy and delish! Everything was really good -- just wasn't sure about "chili meat" on my taco. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I have used this recipe several times now and my family loves it. Our guests always comment "it's a fun change". It's also Soooo... easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
My moms side of the family is Native American and we just call this indian fry bread and we use pork and call it chili pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
The meat sauce - I winged it. Used chili beans -they worked great. And used my canned salsa for all of the tomotoes... and used my own taco seasoning blend... but the star of this is the dough! Wow so good and easy. Definitely will be a staple in our house. BTW 2 cups self rising flour = 2 cups flour, 2 2/3 baking powder, 2/3 tsp of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
what about the other can of diced tomatoes and the green chilis?? I assume they go in the hamburger mixture?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I wish there was a place to ask questions without posting a rating. I've never heard of ranch style beans - what kind of beans are they? Black beans or baked beans? This recipe sounds delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melrose Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Vernon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I'm giving this a 5 star because I cannot give it a 4. for flavor. BUT... since it gave me such a great flash-back to many wonderful moments in the past, this recipe quickly wins back that half-point. I had to make this... Not bad at all. I think the ranch-style beans is what brought this recipe to the top of the pile of other recipes I have tried. (Funny, but I never considered this as the missing ingredient...) I used Penzey's Bold Taco seasoning for the first time, too. The flavors were definitely there, but I do prefer the Indian tacos in which the dough is a yeast-raised dough. Somehow, that seems to fry up even better! Probably because it makes this entire dish taste like a fabulously wonderful, savory donut. (I use all-purpose flour rather than self-rising, add sugar to make a slightly sweet dough, and used peanut oil or good ol' lard to deep-fry 'em all up!) My next favorite version of this recipe is just the deep-fried dough (yeast-raised!) smothered with a dried wild blueberry sauce (Standing Rock Tribe, Sioux Nation of the Dakotas). That was served on Thursdays when I was working at For Yates, ND. Thank you very much, Melanie2008, for bringing back such wonderful memories of great food as well as great fellowship.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Borderbumble

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Habra, California, USA
Living In: Kenai, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I'm white and my husband is native. We've had these often. I always joke about making "white-man's fry bread." I just use thawed frozen bread dough. Grab a little ball of it, stretch it out and fry it up. Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
We used to get something very similar at the flea market in Farmington New Mexico and they were delicious. These are the closet that I have gotten to them. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Tuten

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooksville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States