Oklahoma Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This brisket was awesome. I'm from Texas so I love a good smoked brisket. I living in PA though and smoking during the winter is a little tough to do so I tried this recipe. I cooked an 8 pound brisket for 4 hours and it was perfectly cooked. I cooked the brisket in the oven, glazed it on the grill and then refrigerated it. The next day, I sliced it, spread a little of the bbq sauce on it, covered it with foil and warmed it in a low oven for about 30-40 minutes. It was outstanding!! The only change I made was to add a little liquid smoke to the barbeque sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Simply the best brisket recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I will say that I make a very simliar recipe to this and it's one of our favorites. Once of the main things I do differently is that we baste the brisket with the BBQ sauce while grilling, gives it a nice coating. Also the most recent review has no business rating this recipe based on living in an apartment with no grill...it's not about that, try a broiler if you don't have a grill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Hofstatter Noftz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Seemed like a good recipe until it said to heat the grill. Not good for apartment goers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ghc630

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Metairie, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
The best by far.even family members that don't like brisket much loved it.even my picky 3year old. I did use apple cider vinegar only instead of the vinegar.didn't want to chance it tasting too vinegary. I'm glad I did. It was sooooo very good! thanks so much for the recipe my favorite meat can now be made at home anytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Definitely 5 Stars!! Tender and flavorful. Wonderful and delicious in every way. I don't grill so I used the oven broiler on low for about 10 minutes for that part. My brisket was only 2 3/4 pounds and it still took 2 1/2 hours to cook to "fork tender". The BBQ sauce is good. If you have some other kind you like, it wouldn't matter which you used. Actually, the feedback I got was that it was not necessary at all. It's perfect without it, if you're in a hurry. If you don't cook brisket much, I suggest make sure the liquid (apple juice in this case) comes not less than 50% up the sides of the meat. When you think it could be done, (I first check after about 45 minutes per pound of brisket) stick a big fork in it and if it goes through easily, it's time. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
My family was only so-so on this recipe. My brisket was a little drier than it usually is with our standard recipe, so not sure where I went wrong. The honey/soy baste gives it an interesting flavor, but again, we will probably stick with our usualy family brisket recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
This was excellent, and so easy to make. My children LOVED the BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
On the top of my print out for this recipe, my notes are "off the hook" as this is the best brisket recipe I have ever found. It comes out perfectly and is devoured, even by my picky kids, every time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
Yummers! This was my first time making brisket - a total hit with my family! I stuck to the recipe, my seasoning of choice was Montreal Steak Grill Mates by Mccormick. I had a smaller brisket (almost 3 pounds) and didn't cut down my roasting/grill time... it didn't burn, but was a little overcooked. Still, the flavor of the honey "crust" was wonderful and my whole family loved the sauce as well! I'll make this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycamper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Wine-Braised Beef Brisket

See how to make this tasty slow-cooked beef brisket.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States