Oklahoma Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Simply the best brisket recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I will say that I make a very simliar recipe to this and it's one of our favorites. Once of the main things I do differently is that we baste the brisket with the BBQ sauce while grilling, gives it a nice coating. Also the most recent review has no business rating this recipe based on living in an apartment with no grill...it's not about that, try a broiler if you don't have a grill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Hofstatter Noftz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Seemed like a good recipe until it said to heat the grill. Not good for apartment goers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ghc630

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Metairie, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
The best by far.even family members that don't like brisket much loved it.even my picky 3year old. I did use apple cider vinegar only instead of the vinegar.didn't want to chance it tasting too vinegary. I'm glad I did. It was sooooo very good! thanks so much for the recipe my favorite meat can now be made at home anytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Definitely 5 Stars!! Tender and flavorful. Wonderful and delicious in every way. I don't grill so I used the oven broiler on low for about 10 minutes for that part. My brisket was only 2 3/4 pounds and it still took 2 1/2 hours to cook to "fork tender". The BBQ sauce is good. If you have some other kind you like, it wouldn't matter which you used. Actually, the feedback I got was that it was not necessary at all. It's perfect without it, if you're in a hurry. If you don't cook brisket much, I suggest make sure the liquid (apple juice in this case) comes not less than 50% up the sides of the meat. When you think it could be done, (I first check after about 45 minutes per pound of brisket) stick a big fork in it and if it goes through easily, it's time. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
My family was only so-so on this recipe. My brisket was a little drier than it usually is with our standard recipe, so not sure where I went wrong. The honey/soy baste gives it an interesting flavor, but again, we will probably stick with our usualy family brisket recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
This was excellent, and so easy to make. My children LOVED the BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
On the top of my print out for this recipe, my notes are "off the hook" as this is the best brisket recipe I have ever found. It comes out perfectly and is devoured, even by my picky kids, every time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
Yummers! This was my first time making brisket - a total hit with my family! I stuck to the recipe, my seasoning of choice was Montreal Steak Grill Mates by Mccormick. I had a smaller brisket (almost 3 pounds) and didn't cut down my roasting/grill time... it didn't burn, but was a little overcooked. Still, the flavor of the honey "crust" was wonderful and my whole family loved the sauce as well! I'll make this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycamper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EQUILDOTTSIN
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I have never attempted brisket before, but was wanting something different for our Labor Day "get-together". This WON everyone over. I made it exactly as specified and it came out perfect. The secret to the barbeque sauce is to slow-simmer the sauce to blend the flavors. It came out perfect - no vinegary taste - just a nice tangy barbeque sauce and a perfect compliment to the brisket. This Kansas gal will be cooking up Oklahoma brisket more often. Thanks for a simply fabulous recipe. Also be sure to use a freshly sharpened knife and cut against the grain of the meat. It will melt into each slice for a beautiful presentation! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Wine-Braised Beef Brisket

See how to make this tasty slow-cooked beef brisket.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States