Okinawa Shoyu Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This was really good! My local Meijer did not have pork belly so I used a pork loin, but I followed the recipe and cooking directions exactly. Also could not find the Bonito flakes, so I used Oyster Sauce that I found in the asain section. (I read online that was a good substitute) The sauce was delicious!! Make sure to cut the meat into small pcs so that it can soak up as much sauce as possible. Served w/white rice and steamed broccoli, sugar snaps and baby carrots. MMMMmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I live in Okinawa and this is spot on!! Not only does it taste great but I was really surprised at how easy it was! We sliced it thin and topped some soba soup with it .. excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
very authentic japanese recipe. We used Kurobuta Pork belly the flavor is so intense and great..Leftover sauce is good for Yakisoba or any type of Asian stir fry... or just mix it with plain steamed rice....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
I stuck extremely close to the recipe at hand and served this over White Rice, Noodles, Broccoli and Boneless Side Pork Meat. It was delicious. I saved the remaining sauce after our meal, chilled it overnight and then marinated Pork Tenderloin in it for a day. I served it thickened over the oven-cooked Tenderloin, Garlic Mashed Potatoes and a Garlic Veggie Medley I made and again, delicious!!! My husband made me go back and find the recipe so we could make sure to use it many times more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueyedtigeress

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maple Valley, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This recipe which I made exactly the way it is listed here is very good! It didn't get 5 stars because it is really, really sweet! My husband didn't love it, but myself and the teenage boys did. It's very simple and so tasty! I served it with brown rice and broccoli, and every last bit was eaten up. I would highly recommend LOTS of water before & after this dish as it made all of us very thirsty. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunshineinsa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
yum! my family inhaled this! it was a tad sweet for my taste, but nobody else seemed to mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
We loved this! I found a meat market near our home that carries fresh pork belly. I used 2 pounds of the belly so I upped the 1/2 cup of everything to 3/4 cup. I used fresh ginger instead of ginger powder & oyster sauce instead of water. So the sauce wasn't very sweet in spite of the mirin & brown sugar. And although I used a lower sodium soy sauce, the sodium punch is significant. I was informed by my husband I may have overcooked the meat a bit, but that the leftovers are his. Not that there's much, maybe enough for his lunch. Next time I make this, I'm adding mixed vegetables to the rice. This is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Wonderful recipe. I tried it after seeing it prepared in my Roku channels. I used pork loin as I didn't have any pork belly but it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Been to Okinawa and love the food! Arigato gozaimasu, Diane for sharing! I hope to see more recipes from you and your family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I used this for a sauce in a pork tenderloin and vegetable stir fry. I just made the sauce as directed and poured it over leftover cubed pork and white rice and added a package of frozen stir fry veggies in a wok. I always have leftover rice so I make alot of stir fry and this was a really good one. I bet the recipe is even better in its original form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States