Okinawa Shoyu Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
I couldn't find pork belly in my local supermarket so instead I used boneless pork stew and sautéed it to cook it a little then put in the sause and followed the recipe after that. I then grilled up some pineapple rings in the pan I cooked the pork in, cut it up, added it to the pork, and then served it over rice. It was delicious. The sause on this was so good I just wanted to lick the bowl clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This was really good! My local Meijer did not have pork belly so I used a pork loin, but I followed the recipe and cooking directions exactly. Also could not find the Bonito flakes, so I used Oyster Sauce that I found in the asain section. (I read online that was a good substitute) The sauce was delicious!! Make sure to cut the meat into small pcs so that it can soak up as much sauce as possible. Served w/white rice and steamed broccoli, sugar snaps and baby carrots. MMMMmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Wonderful recipe. I tried it after seeing it prepared in my Roku channels. I used pork loin as I didn't have any pork belly but it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I made this for my mother and she loved it! I used fresh ground ginger and added maple syrup with white sugar because I ran out of brown sugar and it still came out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I grew up in Okinawa so of course I had to try it! The smell is so good while it's cooking... I have also made this adapted for the slow cooker using a pork loin. Just halve the ingredients for the sauce, make sure the sugar is dissolved in the shoyu, and pour over the chunks of pork cook on low for 6 hrs or so, turning chunks once, and when it's done, it'll fall apart in delicious pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I used this for a sauce in a pork tenderloin and vegetable stir fry. I just made the sauce as directed and poured it over leftover cubed pork and white rice and added a package of frozen stir fry veggies in a wok. I always have leftover rice so I make alot of stir fry and this was a really good one. I bet the recipe is even better in its original form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Tender and flavorful! Especially great to add to soba soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
I stuck extremely close to the recipe at hand and served this over White Rice, Noodles, Broccoli and Boneless Side Pork Meat. It was delicious. I saved the remaining sauce after our meal, chilled it overnight and then marinated Pork Tenderloin in it for a day. I served it thickened over the oven-cooked Tenderloin, Garlic Mashed Potatoes and a Garlic Veggie Medley I made and again, delicious!!! My husband made me go back and find the recipe so we could make sure to use it many times more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueyedtigeress

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maple Valley, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Been to Okinawa and love the food! Arigato gozaimasu, Diane for sharing! I hope to see more recipes from you and your family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
We loved this! I found a meat market near our home that carries fresh pork belly. I used 2 pounds of the belly so I upped the 1/2 cup of everything to 3/4 cup. I used fresh ginger instead of ginger powder & oyster sauce instead of water. So the sauce wasn't very sweet in spite of the mirin & brown sugar. And although I used a lower sodium soy sauce, the sodium punch is significant. I was informed by my husband I may have overcooked the meat a bit, but that the leftovers are his. Not that there's much, maybe enough for his lunch. Next time I make this, I'm adding mixed vegetables to the rice. This is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States