Oil Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
I gave 5 stars for this one. Now the reality is that things made with high fat such as shortening, etc. do taste the best to the tastebuds, but if you are into healthy eating, this is the piecrust for you. You can have your pie and eat it too. To me, for a healthy crust, this is absolutely delicious. This will be my new piecrust for all of the pies that I bake. Used olive oil for extra health benefits. Finally, to be able to eat pie without feeling weighed down. Thanks so Much for this healthy variety piecrust. It is great!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2004
This came out great, and I love it because it has no trans fat (shortening), so it is healthier. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil, and it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
I've never made pie crust before but I have heard that is a very time consuming task. This recipe makes it simple and easy and it can be used over and over. My friends love the crisp and crunch from this crust when it comes out with a fresh baked pie. I'm even using it for Thanksgiving this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
I used this recipe for a long time to make strawberry pies (excellent!) but lost it. I'm glad to have found it again! Thanks!! Oh, I just patted it into the pan instead of rolling and worked very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
Even though this crust is not as tasty as a regular solid fat pastry I gave it five stars because it was the best oil pastry I have tried. I used it for the top crust of a chicken potpie and it was relatively flaky and very easy to handle. I did not make any substantial changes. I did add some savory and a little basil to the crust since it was not for a sweet pie. I also used olive oil for it's health benefits and rolled the crust out thinly between 2 sheets of waxed paper. I have added this to my hand written cookbook because I will be using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
At last I have found the exact reciepe!! My mother-in-law made an oil crust and I could never duplicate it (I think she gave me the wrong receipe on purpose!!) This has always been my husbands favorite...Thanks so much. Oil crust is a little harder to roll out than lard crusts, that's the nature of the beast, I roll it out in between wax paper..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
I was a little skeptical but this crust really worked and it was super easy. It doesn;t quite have the same texture as a butter crust but this is great for beginners, people watching their fat intake or for a heavier pie. I used it for butter tarts and got lots of compliments. Be sure to roll it thin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
This is a great recipe. My mom has used this for years. I use canola oil so it is low in trans fat. Much better for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tangastar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
Healthy, Low Fat, Easy and Crispy, so nice :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
Excellent easy and flaky pie crust! Will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States