Oil Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
I can see how this could flop on some folks but it worked great for me. I read most of the reviews so this is what I did that I believe made my attempt a success: I sifted my flour like it says--some people were complaining about there being too much flour in it making it crumbly -- if you don't sift it, you do get more flour than intended because it is more compacted. I handled the dough as little as possible--mix it just enough to get the balls to form--it should look marbled, a good sign for flakiness. After letting it chill (I did that while making the apple filling) I wet a washcloth and wiped my counter, then I put down a couple sheets of plastic wrap so they'd stick tight to the counter. Then I unwrapped the dough and placed it on the covered counter and put another sheet of plastic wrap on top of it and I rolled it out like that--a plastic wrap sandwich. It rolled out very quickly, with no turning, and neatly as there was absolutely no messing with flour which could make this crust too dry again. Once rolled out very thin, you simply remove the top plastic wrap and handle the crust gently by lifting up the bottom layer of plastic wrap and placing the crust carefully in your pan. This is a delicate crust, so measure and place carefully. But, it looked, held-up and tasted great so I gave it 5 stars. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
753 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Made an amazing apple pie crust baked at 350 degrees! I did make one change - I placed the oil in the freezer for an hour prior to making the dough. It made combining ingredients much smoother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
374 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Pomfret, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
I made this recipe tonight and it was very tough. I realized why when I reviewed the ingredients. The recipe called for 2 3/4 Cups Flour...too much. The most flour to be used with 1/2 C oil should be 2 1/4 C Flour and the least amount to be used is 2 Cups. Had to throw my pie away. Becky S
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
300 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
I gave 5 stars for this one. Now the reality is that things made with high fat such as shortening, etc. do taste the best to the tastebuds, but if you are into healthy eating, this is the piecrust for you. You can have your pie and eat it too. To me, for a healthy crust, this is absolutely delicious. This will be my new piecrust for all of the pies that I bake. Used olive oil for extra health benefits. Finally, to be able to eat pie without feeling weighed down. Thanks so Much for this healthy variety piecrust. It is great!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
At last I have found the exact reciepe!! My mother-in-law made an oil crust and I could never duplicate it (I think she gave me the wrong receipe on purpose!!) This has always been my husbands favorite...Thanks so much. Oil crust is a little harder to roll out than lard crusts, that's the nature of the beast, I roll it out in between wax paper..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
I was surprised to find there are no whole wheat pie crust recipes on this site, so I used this recipe as a basis for my own creation: I used 2 1/4 cups whole wheat flour, added a tsp of fine herbs and a tsp garlic powder, used olive oil instead and soy milk. Also added parsley. Baked at 350 F to make quiche. Very good! The only thing I would have done differently is cover the edges of the crust with foil so they wouldn't be as hard... the rest of the crust was nice and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
Even though this crust is not as tasty as a regular solid fat pastry I gave it five stars because it was the best oil pastry I have tried. I used it for the top crust of a chicken potpie and it was relatively flaky and very easy to handle. I did not make any substantial changes. I did add some savory and a little basil to the crust since it was not for a sweet pie. I also used olive oil for it's health benefits and rolled the crust out thinly between 2 sheets of waxed paper. I have added this to my hand written cookbook because I will be using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
Very easy, the trick is to roll it as thin as possible. For even better results make the dough first, put into the pie plate and refrigerate while making the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAPATISTA234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
I used this recipe for a long time to make strawberry pies (excellent!) but lost it. I'm glad to have found it again! Thanks!! Oh, I just patted it into the pan instead of rolling and worked very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
I tried this recipe using skim milk and olive oil for the top crusts of individual chicken pot pies. Even after freezing, the crusts baked evenly w/o shrinking. Will use again... thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States