Oil Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I'm pretty sure I did not make this pie crust right because the dough turned out very dry and the dough didn't roll out right. Probably because I didn't sift the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Bake
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Awesome and simple recipe that is simple yet innovative. I agree with some other reviewers that sifting the flour does help with how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shakeel Syed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Baked this tonight for a Basic Chicken Pie. It made a perfect amount for a 8"x8" square pan with a little dough left over. I just mixed Chicken, Green Onions, Celery, Pepper, White Cheddar Cheese and Mayonnaise in a separate bowl poured it into the pie crust and baked it at 350 degrees until the crust was brown. Both my wife and I loved it, would of added more vegetables but used what I had in the house:). Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: St.Thomas, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Thank you!! This was light, flaky, and had a nice flavor. It will be my go-to for savory pie crusts from now on. I followed the advice of other reviewers and rolled the crust out between two sheets of plastic wrap instead of flouring the table like usual and tried to handle it as little as possible. No problems at all. It came out like a dream. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I would add a pinch of baking powder to tenderize and a pinch of sugar as well for taste. Unsweetened soy milk also worked nicely (for those who are vegan).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
always produces excellent texture and presentation. Pretty tastey too! I use this recipe intended to make 2 crust to make 1 really thick crust for the awesome Dutch Apple Pie from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spatula flipper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I tried this with a chicken pot pie recipe. I am pleased to have found a pie crust recipe that doesn't use shortening. This turned out perfect, flaky and golden brown. I took someone's advice and rolled the crust in the plastic wrap which worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I can unequivocally say that this was a disaster. I think there was just too much flour. I followed the recipe exactly and couldn't even get it to roll out. It just fell apart. Most people didn't have a problem so it must be me. However, if a pie-crust disabled person can't make it work, then it negates what should be an easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This recipe is really the best! I made an orange meringue pie! It was delicious! And the flour is just enough ... you really need to sift it before measuring. Great! Thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tsuki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I used this pie crust to top my turkey pot pie, because I wanted something less rich and a little healthier than my regular pie crust. This really worked well for me! I only had extra virgin olive oil, so I was concerned that it might taste funny in my crust, but since it is the healthiest oil, I really wanted to use it. I ended up doing 1/4 cup olive and 1/4 cup canola oil, and it worked great! I mixed up the dough, and refrigerated it for about an hour, as I made the filling for my pot pie from scratch. I rolled it out between two floured pieces of plastic wrap, and had no problems with it sticking or becoming soft. It was so easy to put the top crust on when using plastic wrap! Just peel off the top layer of wrap, turn it over on top of the pie, and peel off the bottom layer. It did get a bit soft on top of the hot filling while I was crimping the edges, but it didn't become a problem. My family really liked the pot pie, and didn't even notice that it wasn't my usual crust! It tasted very much like the crust that comes on the store-bought pot pies which they love. Thanks so much for sharing! I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States