Oil Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I had to add some water, as the original mixture was quite dry. It rolled out fairly well, but was still rather dry, and broke apart some when lifted into the pie pan. I think the next time I make this (and there will be a next time, because my family likes pot pie), I will use a bit more milk. I don't think using nonfat milk made much difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This crust came out very good. I thought the flavor was fine and my arteries are much happier with me that I did not use shortening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I made a custard pie with this crust recipe and it turned out terrific! It didn't crumble to peices, but was perfectly flakyand soft. I read a few other reviews and did chill my oil before use. I think it made a big differnce. I gave this recipe 5 stars because I have always wanted to make scratch pie crust, yet was terribly hesitant. This recipe was SO easy and I always have the ingredients on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayde

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
A bit dry and boring. I made this recipe twice following it exactly and I didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITCHENTROLL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashcheekz
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This pie crust is AMAZING!!! Rolled out PERFECTLY and came out PERFECT!!!! Very impressed how easy it was to make this crust since all the other times I have it was so difficult. Will be using this recipe from now on!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashcheekz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Really tasty, but it doesn't seem to work very well with soy milk. I can't get it to roll out the way I'd like it to. It just falls apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I think my pie crust making skills are awful! this crust like all the others i have tried flopped big time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Blain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
First, I will agree with other reviewers, and say- Make sure you sift your flour before measuring. It DOES make a difference. I was in a pinch, and wanted to make a pie, but I didn't have shortening or butter, so I tried this. I was pleasantly surprised! I haven't cut into the pie yet, but I did use the leftover crust to make little cinnamon/sugar medallions (See recipe for "Piggies" on this site). They baked up nicely, and they are crisp and flaky like a pie crust should be! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~S~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Finally a crust that works great and I don't have to feel guilty eating! I followed the advice that Rayncloud wrote and it came out great- sift the flour before measuring and mix only as much a necessary, leave it looking modeled. Do not use extra flour when rolling. Also chilling the oil first and chilling the dough well helps. The crust is not sweet so if you like sweetness sprinkle with sugar. A keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
This turned out well. The dough was a little bit tough in the start so I added a little more milk. I agree with the reviewer who said there is too much flour in it. 2 1/4 cup should be enough. I'm going to try that next time. This recipe also works with almond milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States