Oil Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
My house burned two years ago and with it my beloved Betty Crocker cookbook. The reprint seems to be from a later edition and does not contain the recipe for this crust. I have been searching for this recipe ever since. Thank you so much. My pie baking has suffered greatly from the loss of this recipe. Now I can get back on track.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Adding 'oil' instead of butter works better for a flakey crust.. I changed the amount of 'flour' (unsifted) to 2 Cups, and increased the 'oil' to 2/3 Cup. for a double crust pie..then brushed the top with milk and sprinkled with sugar... VOILA, a nice golden top!! Great crust for any pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Littlerock, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I made this tonight for double crust chicken pot pie. It is an excellent recipe! I followed it exactly, chilled for an hour and rolled between wax paper. It worked perfectly and tasted great. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I don't know what I did that was different than what everyone else who rated this recipe did, but this was the worst pie crust I've ever made. The dough was very crumbly and would not roll out properly. It also ended up being too small for the pan. I've probably made hundreds of pies in my lifetime--almost all of them with crisco. I don't know if this is the way all oil pie crusts turn out, but I will never use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
out of all the pie crusts that i have made i thought this was by far the most flakiest! I added a little more milk because it was a bit dry and left it in the fridge for about 30 minutes and it came out spectacular! i used it for apple pie by grandma ople and it was the perfect compliment! I rolled it out beween two plastic wraps and it was very easy to use! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
THIS PIE CRUST WAS AWESOME, I WAS LOOKING FOR A PIE CRUST FOR MY CHICKEN POT PIE. I WAS GOING TO BUY A PREPARED PIE CRUST FROM THE STORE BUT HAD TROUBLE WITH MY TRANSPORTATION, I STILL HAD TO FEED THE FAMILY SO I TRIED THIS RECIPE AND I LOVED IT. A REAL HIT IN MY HOUSE. I DON'T THINK I WILL EVER BUY ANOTHER PREMADE CRUST AGAIN. THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TCANADY

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Needless to say I was not too optimistic about making any successful piecrust. Until this recipe I wasn't very successful at ALL! BUT, this turned out great! I had used it to make a chicken pot pie and my family loved it. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I like the taste of a butter crust better, but this is good for no cholesterol diets. I used skim milk in mine, and also pastry flour. Using the exact recipe amounts, my crust was tricky to roll, but not tough. I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camprunfarm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I had to add some water, as the original mixture was quite dry. It rolled out fairly well, but was still rather dry, and broke apart some when lifted into the pie pan. I think the next time I make this (and there will be a next time, because my family likes pot pie), I will use a bit more milk. I don't think using nonfat milk made much difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This crust came out very good. I thought the flavor was fine and my arteries are much happier with me that I did not use shortening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States