Oil Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Absolutely Fabulous!!! I used this for personal sized black cherry pies and they were perfect. Thanks for the super easy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I made this crust for a sweet potato pie that I was craving. I didn't want to drive to the store for shortening and I had oil on hand. Maybe I did something wrong even though I followed the recipe's directions. I didn't like this one. I'm going to have to stick with using shortening. Thanks for the recipe, though. :>|
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
For such a simple and easy recipe it is surprisingly close to the real thing. The dough is not quite as durable and forgiving as shortening crust but it patches back together easily and cooks up nicely. Once cooked, I found it just slightly tougher and less flavorful than a shortening crust but it has all the qualities of the real thing and for a chicken pot pie I actually preferred the added firmness this crust provided. I only used about 2-1/4 cups of flour as recommended by several other reviewers and chilled the dough for a couple hours rather than just 15 minutes to help it firm up a little better, which I am glad I did because it softens very quickly. I would make this again and recommend it to anyone in a pinch or watching their diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I couldn't get it to roll out well then realized I was on a granite countertop in a freezing cold kitchen. After I went to a warmer surface it rolled out fine and worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
My house burned two years ago and with it my beloved Betty Crocker cookbook. The reprint seems to be from a later edition and does not contain the recipe for this crust. I have been searching for this recipe ever since. Thank you so much. My pie baking has suffered greatly from the loss of this recipe. Now I can get back on track.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Adding 'oil' instead of butter works better for a flakey crust.. I changed the amount of 'flour' (unsifted) to 2 Cups, and increased the 'oil' to 2/3 Cup. for a double crust pie..then brushed the top with milk and sprinkled with sugar... VOILA, a nice golden top!! Great crust for any pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Littlerock, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I made this tonight for double crust chicken pot pie. It is an excellent recipe! I followed it exactly, chilled for an hour and rolled between wax paper. It worked perfectly and tasted great. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I don't know what I did that was different than what everyone else who rated this recipe did, but this was the worst pie crust I've ever made. The dough was very crumbly and would not roll out properly. It also ended up being too small for the pan. I've probably made hundreds of pies in my lifetime--almost all of them with crisco. I don't know if this is the way all oil pie crusts turn out, but I will never use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
out of all the pie crusts that i have made i thought this was by far the most flakiest! I added a little more milk because it was a bit dry and left it in the fridge for about 30 minutes and it came out spectacular! i used it for apple pie by grandma ople and it was the perfect compliment! I rolled it out beween two plastic wraps and it was very easy to use! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
THIS PIE CRUST WAS AWESOME, I WAS LOOKING FOR A PIE CRUST FOR MY CHICKEN POT PIE. I WAS GOING TO BUY A PREPARED PIE CRUST FROM THE STORE BUT HAD TROUBLE WITH MY TRANSPORTATION, I STILL HAD TO FEED THE FAMILY SO I TRIED THIS RECIPE AND I LOVED IT. A REAL HIT IN MY HOUSE. I DON'T THINK I WILL EVER BUY ANOTHER PREMADE CRUST AGAIN. THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TCANADY

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States