Oil Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Amazing. 5 stars for a healthier crust. I am trying to bake healthier and this pie crust was a hit. I used olive oil. It turned out flakey but the taste was a little bland. The second time I made it I took 1/8 cup of milk, 1/8 cup of water and beat an egg into the mixture, topping it up with water to get the 1/2 cup of liquid. I also borrowed the idea of adding 2 tsp baking powder from another recipe. I left the dough slightly marbled and rolled it between 2 layers of wax paper which worked well and made it easy to flip when rolling and transfering into the pie plate. The second time the crust was slightly flakier and the taste was not as bland. The crust turns out browner then normal but does not taste burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powassan, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
This is World War II recipe, from a ladies magazine during the days of butter rationing. All my aunts made it, and one of them remembered at my mom's funeral that they learned it from a magazine advertisement promoting the new Mazola corn oil brand. Mom always insisted on Mazola oil, and I agree that it is more tasty than non-corn oil. I printed it on the little memorial cards that the funeral home passes out. I thought that way people would keep it in their recipe books and remember her great pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I don't know if I did something wrong, or what, but I ended up with a gooey soft crawling dough. The end product is kinda nice, but this is not what I'd call pie crust. It's more like a potsticker dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Womack

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Wished I listened to some of these reviews. Too much flour made it impossible to work with. I'll give it one more try with the recommended 2 - 2 1/4 and see where it goes..... This is the first recipe that has gone belly up on me from this site....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maili

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
This is a very flaky crust and easy old school made simple it will impress the mother in law!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
this was excellent!!! thank you so much, probably one of the flakiest pie crusts I've ever eaten and so easy to make, no rolling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Pretty good. I went with the "2 cups of flour" instead though, as some reviews mentioned worked better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Since I have a problem with cholesterol I have been searching and trying tons of recipes for a pie crust made with oil instead of shortening. They were flops. I decided to try this one. I followed the recipe exactly as posted. It was AWESOME! It was very tender and flaky, and it really had a great taste! My whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
My mother & grandmother both used this recipe for all our pies. It always turns out perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Stadtmuller Gad
Home Town: Egg Harbor City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I love this crust! It is simple and works well. I have made it a few times now and love it everytime. I do recommend sifting the flour then measuring it. If it is it to dry (which happened to me) I broke it up and put it in my food proccessor, pusled till in small pieces, add small amounts of oil till moist the let it relax again. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States