Oil Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Quick and easy. Its important to shift the flour. You can yous a metal vegetable strainer to shift flour!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARLITOS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Ayase, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
This worked fine for me, and did not take much effort at all. Be sure not to cook it too long, the edges tend to burn when you make a pie. Just put it in quick and don't let it brown, when it looks like it is rising a little take it out and put the ingredients in and it should work. I like the flaky texture and it tastes good, so go for it! I am sure you will be pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarplum9085

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
I got compliments from the crust because people know how hard it is to make, and it worked in a sinch. I don't like needing to chill things too long so I like the short chill recipes. The final product was a bit too hard for me. It was pliable enough to make lattice work on a pie. This is a good backup crust when I am out of butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
This dough was difficult to work with. I followed directions exactly - sifted the flour, worked minimally with the dough - and it was terribly hard to roll out, as it kept falling apart. I ended up having to pat it into the pie pan piecemeal. The taste was okay and it was flaky, but I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AggieFan92

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I tried this crust and it was hard to work with. It tasted good but just too much trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Have tried other oil crusts and this one is the flakiest and is easy to roll (use a silicone mat and a marble pin.) I have always made great pie crusts but this gets two thumbs up from the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Doesn't roll out well. But makes a good enough patted crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I just made this crust to top a chicken pot pie and the results were excellent. I think the key is sifting the flour. If you don't you will be using way too much. I ended up using just over 2 cups of flour to get the 2 3/4 sifted. I also followed other reviews that suggested stirring until the dough was just combined and still had a marbled look. I rolled it between two sheets of plastic wrap after 15 minutes of chilling and it was so easy- with no mess to clean up. It baked up beautifully and was super flakey with just the right amount of crispness. I was excited to be able to use olive oil instead of shortening. Thanks for this great recipe. AND thank you to the previous reviewers for their most helpful tips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Oh my gosh, this is incredible! As known: only use oil pie crusts the day of, because oil has the tendency to separate, and then it's not half as tasty as the day before! HOWEVER, if eaten that day, what a pie crust! I follow it verbatim if making a "saltier" pie, like a chicken pot or what have you. And if using it for a sweeter dish like a dessert, I throw in two tablespoons of sugar, just to bring it all together. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stuart, Florida, USA
Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I liked the idea of using oil instead of butter. However it was very difficul for me to roll out. I used white whole wheat flour. I'll try it again with all purpose flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States