Oil Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Wanted to try a pie crust using coconut oil. Followed directions, using 2 1/2 cups sifted flour, melted the coconut oil and when cool mixed it with the milk. It mixed well and easily came together into a ball. It did seem like it could have used a little more flour, so may adjust the next time. Because coconut oil becomes firm when cold, I rolled the dough after just letting it sit in wrapped in saran wrap. As per other comments, rolled it between sheets of wax paper. Used the dough to make a banana cream pie, so fully cooked the pie shell without the filling. It worked great! I had a hard time stopping myself from eating the pie dough. Made a couple of cinnamon pie dough cookies, and used the remainder for the crust. It really tastes great, with a wonderful flavor and aroma from the coconut oil. Will continue to play with this receipe for other uses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I have used this recipe for both savory and sweet pies. Because I have heart disease I cannot eat most fats so I use very good quality extra virgin olive oil. Because I cannot eat salt I substitute 1 tsp sugar for sweet and granulated garlic for savory pies. I like it a lot for any pie but I like it best for pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Quick and easy. Nothing wrong with it. I use it for quiche and use a more traditional recipe for pies. Great for faster quiche!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Following the directions exactly, it worked perfectly. You MUST sift the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by advancedcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chelsea, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This is almost identical to my aunt's oil pie crust recipe, which is even simpler because there's no need to roll out the dough. It is delicious and it stays light, crispy, and flaky, even when leftover pie is enjoyed a few days later. I use: 2 c. flour, 1 tsp. salt, 1/2 c. oil, 1/4 c. milk, mix lightly in a bowl (dough will be crumbly) and press into a 10-inch pie dish--no need to roll it out, so it takes only 5 min. to prepare! These modifications make one 9 or 10-inch crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Great Crust! The recipe was easy to follow and tastes great! I had misplaced my grandmother's recipe and I am thankful I found yours. Thank you very much for posting this. My apple pie turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Kolar-Landeros

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fox River Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Conroy, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
This, my first oil-based crust, was a huge disappointment. Was looking forward to a nice crust for strawberry-rhubarb pie. Simply too much flour, and I even sifted it first as others suggested. I added liquid to the second half and it rolled out just fine. All the handling made it tough, but it was edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2013
It was very hard to work. I have never had trouble with oil crusts before, but this one was vary challenging and did not want to stay together, so in the end I had to scrap it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westmoreland, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Biddeford, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I'm sorry, I did not like this recipe. The taste is great, but it was extremely hard to roll out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This recipe works very well for quiches. Something about the texture makes the whole thing taste better. As an extra bit of flavor, I add tsp of ground garlic to the dry ingredients before mixing. BTW - I did not need to roll it out, just set it in the pie plate and pushed it into place. I then added my egg mixture and baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States