Ohio Sausage and Kale Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I don't usually cook too often but this recipe has become my favorite!! I make it all the time and it lasts. I didn't change any of the ingredients. It's great the way it is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I followed directions until I realized I was out of russet potatoes! I had a large white sweet potato, which had a really mild flavor so added that instead. Then I decided to add a carrot for color since I was off track already. It was excellent! I'm sure it would be excellent if I had left the carrot out and had the right potato type too. I will make this again. So far, it's the only way I like kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I made it for 2 people - 2 italian sausages; white beans instead of potatoes; beef broth 2 cans (all I had); mushrooms (went great with the sausage and kale flavors) bay leaf + carrots + onions + celery - yum! Sprinked parmesean cheese on top DH loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I made this with some chorizo sausage I already had but otherwise did not modify it. It was very good and my boyfriend actually told me to give it five stars. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prparks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I made this with my fresh sausage that I seasoned and ground myself. The kale was a surprise in the garden from the previous year. My kale variety is Red Russian, I really like it. This was a great dish for a chilly/rain day in western Washington. Instead of a baguette I had fresh homemade whole wheat bread with parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
We have been making a slightly different version to this for a couple of years after enjoying something similar at Olive Garden restaurant. We use regular sausage instead of hot/spicy, and let it cook all day in the crock pot. Then we add cream before serving to come closer to the O.G. version. It is very popular at our house, especially on a winter evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Loved this soup! I have three times aldready this winter. I did make a few changes....white beans instead of potatoes and added carrots...wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
This is a keeper! Even my skeptical hubby liked it. I did change it up a bit to use up what I had on hand. I only had 2 spicy chicken sausage links, so I supplemented with some diced ham. I substituted rutabaga for potatoes because we're low-carbing. Besides the kale, I also added some shredded cabbage, diced carrots, and Italian seasoning. I threw everything in the slow-cooker for about 5 hrs (high). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I have made this soup several times and we LOVE it. I had family coming in to town for Christmas and had to cook for many people, I made this soup and everyone loved it. I was emailing the recipe like crazy. My sister and mom have made it several times since then as well. This recipe is now a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
This recipe surprised me. It's so simple and when it first pulled together I didn't even really love the smell BUT after simmering for a few hours I have to say, it was wonderful. In fact, I think that it was best the next day. My 2 year old loves it...for what it's worth. I plan on putting this recipe in my rotation :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOULEC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States