Ohio Sausage and Kale Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I have been making a similar version of this soup for years. It is filling and the only way I eat my kale! The differences are that I use zucchini instead of potatoe, only 1 lb of sausage, garlic instead of baquette, oregano/marjoram instead of nutmeg and crushed red pepper instead of parmesan. I brown the crumbled sausage and throw everything in my big crockpot. Freeze single portions for an easy fix other days!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smiles_JS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I was too nervous to try this because I don't often cook with sausage and have never cooked with kale, but luckily my boyfriend is fearless in the kitchen. Not only was it so simple to make, but it was delicious. I couldn't wait until the next day to have leftovers. The bread in the bottom of the bowl absorbed all the delicious flavors too. We actually added some quinoa to it as well, to make it even more filling and add some extra protein. I would definitely be willing to try making this myself and have already passed the recipe on to friends and family as well as laminated it into my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Delicious! I only used 1lb of medium-hot sausage and omitted the baguette. Also didn't puree any portion of the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This soup with a huge hit with my family! I did not include the hot sausage (we are not spicy lovers) and I put in more kale (we were all sick and figured we could use the extra greens). There was NOTHING left!! Will definitely make this again, I'm already being asked when! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: East Moriches, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I was very excited to try this recipe especially since I just read a article about the health benefits of kale. I followed the recipe but took the suggestion of one of the reviews and used fresh marjoram instead of nutmeg. The soup was delicious! My only comment is that the soup is on the spicy side. I had doubled the recipe using 2 hot bulk sausage and 2 italian bulk sausage. Next time I might go with 3 italian sausage and 1 hot. If you are not a fan of spicy, definitely go with 2 italian bulk sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
This is so delicious and easy! I used only 1 lb. of sausage and a few more potatoes since the ones I had were small. A great way to use up my CSA produce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
We have been making a slightly different version to this for a couple of years after enjoying something similar at Olive Garden restaurant. We use regular sausage instead of hot/spicy, and let it cook all day in the crock pot. Then we add cream before serving to come closer to the O.G. version. It is very popular at our house, especially on a winter evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Loved this soup! I have three times aldready this winter. I did make a few changes....white beans instead of potatoes and added carrots...wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I have made this soup several times and we LOVE it. I had family coming in to town for Christmas and had to cook for many people, I made this soup and everyone loved it. I was emailing the recipe like crazy. My sister and mom have made it several times since then as well. This recipe is now a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Love this! You can stretch the sausage and use half as much, especially if it's spicy. We use jalapeno chicken sausage and love how it gives its flavor to the whole soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Tucker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States