Oh So Tender Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
I couldn't find a three pound brisket so I purchased an eight pounder and decided to experiment. Half of it went into the oven at 275 degrees - the other half went into the crockpot. I did everything like the recipe except I also added about a half cup of beef broth (someone suggested this). After 7 hours of cooking, I put them side by side and asked my husband and teenage son to critique them. The oven cooked brisket was juicier and it fell apart - my son liked it the best. The crockpot brisket sliced and had more of a texture of a roast. My husband like it the best. Me? I was pleased with both and pretty tickled at myself for the experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2004
**WOW** This is the BOMB! Love this recipe! I don't know how the previous reviewer ended up with Shoe Leather??? I have used this many times with success every single time! Fork tender, great flavor and EASY! What could be better? I did make very slight additions: I used a dash of Thyme, onion powder & brown sugar (maybe 2T of Br. sugar) along with the soup mix and the rest. I put all the dry ingredients on the meat & 'patted' them in before I load it into the bag. Then I pour over the Liquid Smoke after I place it in the bag. I placed 1 whole large sweet onion in large slices over the top, then threw on Red Potatoes cut in half. Seal it up. I was short on time so I cooked at 325* for 4 hours. PERFECT!!! Rave reviews from all 8 people at the table...I call that success! I Like the potatoes this way too...makes it so easy to open the hot bag, throw together a salad, and you have dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
I thought this was really pretty good. Good flavor and moist enough. I also added a little beef broth and baked it in a roasting pan covered tightly with foil. I also added a lot of chopped veggies like onion, celery and carrots. When the meat was done, I took it out and cleaned off any fat then sliced it thin against the grain and returned it to the pan then kept it warm until the rest of the dinner was finished. I would for sure make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
This has become a staple in my house! It's so easy and the liquid smoke gives it a great flavor. Tastes like you have been tending the grill all day! P.S. I just throw everything into a slow cooker on LOW for 4-5 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
Omg this recipe was soooooooooooo tender it fell apart no knife needed. I dont like smoked flavor so i substituted the smoked liquid with a can of campbells golden mushroom soup mixed with half a can of water and it made a terrific gravy that the brisket cooked in. My picky daughter who never eats brisket asked if i was gonna make it again tonight and she ate the little bit of leftovers that we had. Will be my brisket recipe for now on. YUMMYYYYYYYYYY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2001
This was excellent! My husband raved! I used a covered roasting pan instead of the oven bag and omitted the flour. Also, I used beefy onion soup mix. The liquid smoke adds great flavor, we will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
Incredible. You won't believe how delicious this is. The low heat and slow cooking make for a melt-in-your- mouth brisket. I'm salivating just thinking about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCATTERFLAKE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
I had never made brisket before, and so was a little intimidated...until this recipe. It was so easy! And the flavor was great. I doubled the recipe since I had lots of people coming over. I shouldn't have doubled the flour portion; it just wasn't necessary. But everything else worked out really great. I saw someone else had mentioned that their recipe turned out dry. I don't really get that because my very fatty brisket gave up so much liquid, that it was being braised there towards the last third of the cooking. But I did only cook the brisket for 6 hours, as recommended, and it worked out great. Thanks for the recipe, it will definitely be part of my summer repertoire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2002
This was soooooo good!!!!! I think next time I will add water or beef broth because there wasn't any liquid on the bottom after cooking, but the flavor and tenderness was GREAT!!!! Definitely a keeper!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2002
Bob knows brisket! So easy to prepare (a no-brainer) and it tastes like you slaved all day. The onion soup mix and liquid smoke are key to the fantastic flavor of the brisket. The roasting bag lets it cook in it's own rich juices. For a savory treat, try this one today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulesDiner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shawnee Mission, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Wine-Braised Beef Brisket

See how to make this tasty slow-cooked beef brisket.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States