Oh So Tender Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
Soooooo yummy and sooooooo easy! Didn't use an oven bag, just covered my pan tight with foil. Kept the liquid smoke to just a few drops only because it isn't something my family likes real well. A Keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2hhh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
Pretty salty and somewhat dry. Will try again -- but in a crock pot next time. Great flavor combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
I had never made brisket before, and so was a little intimidated...until this recipe. It was so easy! And the flavor was great. I doubled the recipe since I had lots of people coming over. I shouldn't have doubled the flour portion; it just wasn't necessary. But everything else worked out really great. I saw someone else had mentioned that their recipe turned out dry. I don't really get that because my very fatty brisket gave up so much liquid, that it was being braised there towards the last third of the cooking. But I did only cook the brisket for 6 hours, as recommended, and it worked out great. Thanks for the recipe, it will definitely be part of my summer repertoire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
Melts in your mouth!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
This recipe is AWESOME!! The flavor is terrific and if you manage to save some for leftovers, they make a great philly-style sandwich. Brisket is kind of expensive in my area but worked wonderfully on a roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
I'm giving this recipe a 5 star rating because it was very tasty and VERY tender. I, however, cooked it as stated and for the time stated and mine was WAY too dry. I will definitely cook this again but I'll cook it a shorter amount of time (ovens vary) or add something for moisture. THANKS for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Osawatomie, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
This is incredible!!! It's so easy, yet guests think you've created something wonderful. Definitely a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
I made this recipe for 4th of July. My husband who always has something to say about my cooking was dumb struck. And with four kids, EVERYONE liked it. Even friend couldn't believe what a good cook I was. I did add a little red cooking wine, but I don't think you need it if you have a fat brisket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
I made this recipe EXACTLY as stated. I thought it would be too much liquid smoke, but I was wrong. It was great! My neighbor walked into the house (which smelled incredible after 7 hours of cooking) while I was taking it out, and kept sampling, not wanting to stop! It was really good. I stored the leftover in its own juices and we put it on crusty rolls for sandwiches later. Brisket is almost too lean for that purpose. You need cheese or something with it, although the flavor was just excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef maggie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
This has become a staple in my house! It's so easy and the liquid smoke gives it a great flavor. Tastes like you have been tending the grill all day! P.S. I just throw everything into a slow cooker on LOW for 4-5 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

London Broil II

See how to make a flavorful marinade for an amazing grilled London Broil.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States