Oh So Tender Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
My carnavore (sp?) family absolutely loved this brisket. It was tender, flavorful and got rave reviews. They're begging me to make it again. The only thing I might cut back on next time is the liquid smoke! All said, it's a great recipe that I would be proud to share and will definately use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
I don't know what the others were talking about when they said "shoeleather" and "dry"! This recipe was FABU! The only thing I did to vary it a bit was to put half a can of beef broth in the bag along with the brisket. The only reason why was because mine was trimmed of fat a bit! My boyfriend is a real "MEAT" type of guy and he LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
I was skeptical of the low heat and long cooking time, but those concerns were totally in vain. The first brisket I have ever made that was moist, tender but not stringy. I did not use liquid smoke either because we don't care for the taste but there was certainly lots of flavor. I can't imagine this ever being dry or leathery. THE ONLY WAY I WILL EVER COOK BRISKET!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2004
**WOW** This is the BOMB! Love this recipe! I don't know how the previous reviewer ended up with Shoe Leather??? I have used this many times with success every single time! Fork tender, great flavor and EASY! What could be better? I did make very slight additions: I used a dash of Thyme, onion powder & brown sugar (maybe 2T of Br. sugar) along with the soup mix and the rest. I put all the dry ingredients on the meat & 'patted' them in before I load it into the bag. Then I pour over the Liquid Smoke after I place it in the bag. I placed 1 whole large sweet onion in large slices over the top, then threw on Red Potatoes cut in half. Seal it up. I was short on time so I cooked at 325* for 4 hours. PERFECT!!! Rave reviews from all 8 people at the table...I call that success! I Like the potatoes this way too...makes it so easy to open the hot bag, throw together a salad, and you have dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
This was NOT SO TENDER! This was shoe leather! I followed the recipe and the time factor was waaaaaay off. Three hours would have been plenty. I am deleting this recipe from my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlwaysCookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
It was my first time making brisket and it was a hit. I browned it first and put it the crock pot for 6 hours on low. I thought it might come out dry so I added 1 can of cream of mushroom soup with a little water. No need for flour. The gravy was delicious and my family wanted the leftover for sandwiches the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
This is "THE BEST". Flavor and tenderness are wonderful. I use the crockpot. No fuss and no mess. If brisket is not on sale, I use a roast. I use leftovers for burritos, enchiladas, and in my potato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
I can't believe the last few reviews - this recipe turned out great when I made it. The meat was very tender and flavorful, and since brisket was on sale for $.99 a pound, it was very economical as well. I made a larger quantity than called for here and sent half to a friend who was recovering from surgery. Her family loved it and said it was the best meal they had received. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2003
The brisket was 'fall apart' tender.. but we just didn't like the flavor at all. My husband will eat anything.. but even he said to throw the left-overs away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
Well my oh so tender brisket has been cooking for6 hours and the meat is no where near tender and my house just smells like liquid smoke. What did I do wrong? The only liquid smoke my store had was hickory flavored. Is there a regular flavor? Let's see how much longer this takes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMMY DEAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

London Broil II

See how to make a flavorful marinade for an amazing grilled London Broil.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States