Oh So Tender Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
My carnavore (sp?) family absolutely loved this brisket. It was tender, flavorful and got rave reviews. They're begging me to make it again. The only thing I might cut back on next time is the liquid smoke! All said, it's a great recipe that I would be proud to share and will definately use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
I don't know what the others were talking about when they said "shoeleather" and "dry"! This recipe was FABU! The only thing I did to vary it a bit was to put half a can of beef broth in the bag along with the brisket. The only reason why was because mine was trimmed of fat a bit! My boyfriend is a real "MEAT" type of guy and he LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
I was skeptical of the low heat and long cooking time, but those concerns were totally in vain. The first brisket I have ever made that was moist, tender but not stringy. I did not use liquid smoke either because we don't care for the taste but there was certainly lots of flavor. I can't imagine this ever being dry or leathery. THE ONLY WAY I WILL EVER COOK BRISKET!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2004
**WOW** This is the BOMB! Love this recipe! I don't know how the previous reviewer ended up with Shoe Leather??? I have used this many times with success every single time! Fork tender, great flavor and EASY! What could be better? I did make very slight additions: I used a dash of Thyme, onion powder & brown sugar (maybe 2T of Br. sugar) along with the soup mix and the rest. I put all the dry ingredients on the meat & 'patted' them in before I load it into the bag. Then I pour over the Liquid Smoke after I place it in the bag. I placed 1 whole large sweet onion in large slices over the top, then threw on Red Potatoes cut in half. Seal it up. I was short on time so I cooked at 325* for 4 hours. PERFECT!!! Rave reviews from all 8 people at the table...I call that success! I Like the potatoes this way too...makes it so easy to open the hot bag, throw together a salad, and you have dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
This was NOT SO TENDER! This was shoe leather! I followed the recipe and the time factor was waaaaaay off. Three hours would have been plenty. I am deleting this recipe from my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlwaysCookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
It was my first time making brisket and it was a hit. I browned it first and put it the crock pot for 6 hours on low. I thought it might come out dry so I added 1 can of cream of mushroom soup with a little water. No need for flour. The gravy was delicious and my family wanted the leftover for sandwiches the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
This is "THE BEST". Flavor and tenderness are wonderful. I use the crockpot. No fuss and no mess. If brisket is not on sale, I use a roast. I use leftovers for burritos, enchiladas, and in my potato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
I can't believe the last few reviews - this recipe turned out great when I made it. The meat was very tender and flavorful, and since brisket was on sale for $.99 a pound, it was very economical as well. I made a larger quantity than called for here and sent half to a friend who was recovering from surgery. Her family loved it and said it was the best meal they had received. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2003
The brisket was 'fall apart' tender.. but we just didn't like the flavor at all. My husband will eat anything.. but even he said to throw the left-overs away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
Well my oh so tender brisket has been cooking for6 hours and the meat is no where near tender and my house just smells like liquid smoke. What did I do wrong? The only liquid smoke my store had was hickory flavored. Is there a regular flavor? Let's see how much longer this takes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMMY DEAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

London Broil II

See how to make a flavorful marinade for an amazing grilled London Broil.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States