Oh So Tender Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I tossed this in the crock pot and let it cook all day on low. I used "beefy" onion soup mix and added 1/2 cup of water. I did reduce the liquid smoke to 1 TBSP. and it had a good smokey flavor without being too strong. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This is the best brisket. I seasoned it according to our family's taste but otherwise it works out perfectly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyoftx

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I was looking for an idea to make folk falling tender brisket. I've used those oven bags for my holiday turkey before but never thought to use it for my brisket! I didn't use the liquid smoke flavoring since I was modifying my other red sause brisket recipe, instead used a can of tomato soup with a bed of vegetables. It came out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This one turned out fantastic and fell apart. Rachel doesn't like onion, but it didn't look like the onion was noticeable. It took less time than the recipe said, but about an hour. Watch it closely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMARASUE2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemlock, Michigan, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
For those who would like to know how this recipe is without any substitutions, it's d-e-l-c-i-o-u-s! It has a flavor of liquid smoke but it's not deathly overpowering. For my sons 1st b-day we had a big party at the park. I cooked 5 whole market trimmed briskets in various sizes 4lbs all the way to 8lbs. I add the onion soup to 1/3 cup water and pour over prior to sealing bag. For an 8lbr I double dry soup with same amount water and add 1 1/2 bottles of COLGIN brand 4oz natural hickory liquid smoke. We got rave reviews from family and friends...none was left to bring home. I will try other brisket recipes from this site(I will try all once), but this "Oh So Tender Brisket" is definitely a keeper in our home. If anyone is worried about this becoming leather like, don't. Just add the additional water and check 2-3 hours prior to removing from over. Never leave anything cooking this long without checking if it's your first attempt! If it is becoming dry add a bit more water to bag. I also use a large to turkey size cooking bag to give me pleanty of room to work with. Honestly, I have never had to add water while cooking in 4 years of making this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Very easy to make and pretty good. my husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I've had better. I wasn't a fan of the smoke flavor. I even put less in. It was very tender though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Dork

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This brisket is WONDERFUL! and could not be any easier to make... I even stunned my mom at how tender this brisket is... nearly falls apart and melts in your mouth. My family has asks for it to be a regular on our menus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lees Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Very good tasting roast but would not add as much liquid smoke as called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LJ65

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
I was inspired by kado's experiment and tried my own: this vs. Jewish Grandma's Best Beef Brisket. I truly expected this one to blow the other away and thank goodness I had the other because I ended up with the shoe leather further surrounded by burnt jerky. I think it was my own fault as I went for the eight hours and didn't check on it -- some crock pot fantasy that the since my oven was holding 275 perfectly, the meat was just getting more tender. From the first hour on, the house was filled with the most wonderful aroma so I'll be trying this again and aiming for 6 hours. The dried, burnt residue looks like it might have been nice drippings at one point. UPDATE: Tried again. Flour doesn't stick to the inside of roasting bags so I'm not sure what that does. Had to add beef broth at 4.5 hours, turned oven off at 5.5. Meat was tender, but not overly moist. Much better than last time, but still not what I'd hoped for. Maybe I'm just not a brisket fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Poway, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

London Broil II

See how to make a flavorful marinade for an amazing grilled London Broil.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States