Oh So Tender Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
I was inspired by kado's experiment and tried my own: this vs. Jewish Grandma's Best Beef Brisket. I truly expected this one to blow the other away and thank goodness I had the other because I ended up with the shoe leather further surrounded by burnt jerky. I think it was my own fault as I went for the eight hours and didn't check on it -- some crock pot fantasy that the since my oven was holding 275 perfectly, the meat was just getting more tender. From the first hour on, the house was filled with the most wonderful aroma so I'll be trying this again and aiming for 6 hours. The dried, burnt residue looks like it might have been nice drippings at one point. UPDATE: Tried again. Flour doesn't stick to the inside of roasting bags so I'm not sure what that does. Had to add beef broth at 4.5 hours, turned oven off at 5.5. Meat was tender, but not overly moist. Much better than last time, but still not what I'd hoped for. Maybe I'm just not a brisket fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Poway, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
Wonderful! A week later my husband is still bragging what a great cook I am and wanting this instead of turkey for thanksgiving! I did use 1/2 cup of beef broth & was happy w/ the a jus that was left in the bag/pan. Great for a dinner party when you want to enjoy a cocktail with your friends before the meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
Omg this recipe was soooooooooooo tender it fell apart no knife needed. I dont like smoked flavor so i substituted the smoked liquid with a can of campbells golden mushroom soup mixed with half a can of water and it made a terrific gravy that the brisket cooked in. My picky daughter who never eats brisket asked if i was gonna make it again tonight and she ate the little bit of leftovers that we had. Will be my brisket recipe for now on. YUMMYYYYYYYYYY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
I thought this was really pretty good. Good flavor and moist enough. I also added a little beef broth and baked it in a roasting pan covered tightly with foil. I also added a lot of chopped veggies like onion, celery and carrots. When the meat was done, I took it out and cleaned off any fat then sliced it thin against the grain and returned it to the pan then kept it warm until the rest of the dinner was finished. I would for sure make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
I couldn't find a three pound brisket so I purchased an eight pounder and decided to experiment. Half of it went into the oven at 275 degrees - the other half went into the crockpot. I did everything like the recipe except I also added about a half cup of beef broth (someone suggested this). After 7 hours of cooking, I put them side by side and asked my husband and teenage son to critique them. The oven cooked brisket was juicier and it fell apart - my son liked it the best. The crockpot brisket sliced and had more of a texture of a roast. My husband like it the best. Me? I was pleased with both and pretty tickled at myself for the experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
This is one of my favorite recipes to make. My wife's Jewish and had had brisket all her life. A few years ago, she told me she wanted to make one, so I checked allrecipes and found this recipe. Since then, I've been making this whenever brisket goes on sale. Prep time is quick and it comes out oh so good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
Good flavor but a bit dry. I would add some beef broth or cooking wine next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
I cooked the brisket for 6 1/2 hours and it was SO dry! I should have known that I needed to add a gravy sauce or something or else it would dry out. Definitely won't use this recipe ever again! What a waste of a briskett!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
Incredible. You won't believe how delicious this is. The low heat and slow cooking make for a melt-in-your- mouth brisket. I'm salivating just thinking about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCATTERFLAKE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
Love this recipe. The liquid smoke makes the whole house smell great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Wine-Braised Beef Brisket

See how to make this tasty slow-cooked beef brisket.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States