Oh-So-Good Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Very yummy!! I used exactly these ingredients for more flavor: - 3 boneless chicken breasts, diced and skillet cooked with olive oil, hot sauce and garlic. - 6 table spoons sour cream - 16 oz Salsa Verde - half a bag of shredded cheddar cheese - a whole bag of (90 sec. microwaved) whole grain rice - 2 cups sliced Bella mushrooms, sauteed like recipe calls for - half of a red onion, chopped - one chopped yellow bell pepper - cilantro to taste - one can black beans, drained and rinsed - one large diced tomato About 4 servings. Cooked 350 degrees for 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Good stuff. I sauteed some diced onion and a couple cloves of fresh minced garlic with the mushrooms, used an 8 oz can of Herdez salsa and 1/2 cup of chicken broth instead of a 16 oz jar of salsa. Also, I added 1 tsp of pure Chile powder and 1/2 tsp of Cumin. When it was nearly done cooking I sprinkled crushed corn tortilla chips on top and baked for a few minutes more. Served with chopped fresh Cilantro. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Very easy and very quick, yet it tastes "Oh so good"! I left out the mushrooms because my husband isn't a big fan of them. I put the rice on the bottom of the baking dish and seasoned some uncooked chicken with "Taco Seasoning II" from this site. I poured Ortega medium chunky salsa over top and light Mexican blend cheese (a bit more than called for). I baked it at 375 for 45 minutes since the chicken was uncooked. After it comes out of the oven I pretty it up a bit by topping it off with some sliced black olives and thin sliced green onions. The chicken is tender, juicy and delicious! It's great topped off with dollup of light sour cream - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
i added onion to it. awsome casserole
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I thought it was very good for how simple it is, but with some additions. While the rice was cooking in a rice cooker, I sauted the mushrooms with green onions. When I added the salsa I also added about a teaspoon each of garlic powder, cumin and chili powder. After I mixed everything together, I wanted a little bit more spice, so I added a teaspoon of Srirachi hot chili sauce. After baking for 20 min, I added more shredded cheese and green onions to the top and baked for another 10 min. I served it with a dollop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L Mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erial, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Blackwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
this dish turned out pretty good however, the amount of ingredients listed failed to fill up my casserole dish. I would advise anyone to either use a smaller casserole dish or to double the amount of the ingredients. but overall this was pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This was so good!! The only thing I changed was I did half salsa and half rotel. I also added black beans and corn just because I thought it needed a few more ingredients....yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brayden's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Tasty! Made some modifications as suggested below. I used a can of black beans instead of mushrooms, and added 1/2 c of frozen corn niblets and some chopped cilantro. I also topped the casserole with another 4 oz of shredded cheese and broiled it on low for about 4-5 minutes after cooking. I added a bit of salt and pepper when I mixed everything -- it didn't need the salt; there's plenty in the cheese. I'll be playing around with this one. Could be garnished with avocado and other tasty things when ready to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I love this! I did add some black beans and about a cup and half of cooked rice instead of 2 cups. I also cooked the chicken in garlic and fresh parsley. I served it on tostadas with avocado and salad on top I have a family of four so there was alot left over so the next night I made enchiladas with red sauce and it was great also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I've made this with and without mushrooms & it's still delicious. I've made it a few times. Now I add diced tomato and chopped onion & taco seasoning (I use the taco seasoning 1 recipe from this site) to the chicken in the skillet. I steam only 1 cup of rice. I make my own salsa so that's what I used (16 ounces is 2 cups of salsa). I consider this good comfort food. The presentation isn't beautiful, so if you're trying to impress someone, make something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaQueTeGusta
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oh-So-Good Chicken

This cheesy chicken and rice casserole stars salsa, sour cream, and mushrooms.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States