Octoberfest Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Roast turned out tender. Just did not care for sweetness in the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
The meat was tender enough, just not very much flavor. It might have been the cut of meat I had on hand, a rump roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Very good, but I will go back to my favorite recipe for roast. This recipe needed herbs of some kind for flavor. It was just not my best pot roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
So delicious! I made this in a slow cooker, on low for 7-8 hours. I followed the ingredients exactly, except I used 2 cups of beer (a porter) and left out the beef stock. I added some baby carrots the last 2 hours of cook time so they didn't get too mushy. Served with some mashed potatoes and gravy made from the beef juices. The family really liked this one! Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arich01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
What a FANTASTIC option to take as opposed to the usual pot roast with potatoes, carrots, onions and celery. This is at the TOP of my recipe go-to list now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Jane~

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Per some of the other comments, made this with a full bottle of dark beer and correspondingly less broth. I used chicken broth since that's what I had on hand. Based on what others have said about the onions, I chose to dice the onions and put them on the bottom of the pot with some finely diced carrots and celery. As the roast cooked, the veggies turned into a terrific gravy with just a hint of sweetness from the onions and the brown sugar. When I make this again, I'll probably be more generous with the mustard glaze - the bite of the mustard makes a nice counterpoint to the slightly sweet gravy. I think I'll also brush on additional glaze periodically as the roast cooks. The nutmeg in the glaze is a nice, subtle touch that makes this roast especially good. Wife loved it - said it reminded her of the way her grandma cooked, which is high praise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Great recipe! Even husband loves it! Make definately again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ambergerin

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This is fantastic! I made this almost exactly as written - just added a little more mustard to avoid too much sweetness, and left out the beef stock (put in more beer for more liquid). With a dark ale this tastes rich & hearty, with the mustard really lifting the flavour... And the gravy! Pshew! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blfm94

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Tasty. Regarding the gravy--Like several other reviewers, my husband's 1st comment was..that is sweet. To assist with the lessening the "sweet" I served with regular beef gravy and blended both over meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
This was terrific ! The only thing I did differently was put a mixture of onion wedges, carrots and celery on the bottom of the pot, then laid the seared roast on top of the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States