Octoberfest Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This is an excellent recipe. The onions that were in the bottom of the pan were brown and savory, the ones that cooked on top of the meat not as much--so next time I'll put them all in the bottom of the pan. Other than that, no changes...and that's saying something because I almost ALWAYS change something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I was very disappointed with this, in terms of flavor. I made this with Sam Adams Oktoberfest, one of my favorite beers but I gave 3 stars allowing for different beers giving different flavors. Mostly I think I didnt like the brown sugar which gives it a sweetened taste whereas I was looking for something more savory. I cooked the roast in my slow cooker high for 3 hours cooks it perfectly. remember it keeps cooking after you take it out so maybe take it out a bit sooner if you light it on the rare side. Meat was tender, I just didnt like the lightly sweet flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This is an excellent pot roast ( and I thought mine was the best) I do NOT get the reference to a sweet not savory roast by another reviewer, because this was a tasty & tender AND NOT SWEET roast. I also do not recommend that anyone eat pot roast rare as suggested by a reviewer. Pot roast is a very tough cut and the long braising and fall apart result is what a pot roast is all about. I would recommend that you salt and pepper the roast before browning because I thought it needed a bit more salt. I would also suggest that you use a grainy or country dijon and NOT a sweetened dijon mustard. The only changes that I made was that I used dark brown sugar because that is all I had. I cooked it covered tightly in a 275 degree oven for 4 hours and it turned out perfect. I did have to add more slurry to thicken the gravy because of all the juices that I had left. Next time I might stir a few crumbled ginger snaps into the gravy to give it an even more pronounced german flavor. This is a winner and I will make this again and again. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I used a 2 lb bottom round roast, but kept all other ingredients & cooking time the same. Except for some extra beef broth I added about 3 hours in. At that time I also stirred the onions into the gravy, turned the roast over and basted it with the gravy. Since the roast was so lean it definately needed the gravy. The gravy is a real flavorful german style gravy. Will definitely be saving this in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
My Sweetie-Pi was all aglow with this, saying over and over again that it was a keeper, as he served himself multiple helpings. I cooked this in the slow cooker for about 3.5 hrs, and the roast was fork tender. Served with mashed potatoes and honey glazed carrots. Made a beautiful presentation. Personally, I thought the gravy lacked flavor except for the sharp flavor of the ale I used (and as someone else pointed out, each beer adds its own unique flavor), as well as the strong mustard flavor. I felt it needed another spice or herb to balance out the flavors, perhaps rosemary or ginger? I wish I were better with herbs and how to combine them. Anyway, I used my old standby, Gravy Master, to deep the color and flavor, and it helped considerably. Perhaps some Better Than Boullion would have been a good addition. As another reviewer mentioned, the onions layered on top of the roast did little for them. Those that cooked in the broth flavored the gravy and gave the onions an appealing, appetizing color. Also, 1 tablespoon cornstarch and water was not enough to thicken the gravy to my taste, so I added more. To me, this recipe is a 3, my Sweetie-Pi thinks it's a 5, hence the 4 star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
So delicious! I made this in a slow cooker, on low for 7-8 hours. I followed the ingredients exactly, except I used 2 cups of beer (a porter) and left out the beef stock. I added some baby carrots the last 2 hours of cook time so they didn't get too mushy. Served with some mashed potatoes and gravy made from the beef juices. The family really liked this one! Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
This was terrific ! The only thing I did differently was put a mixture of onion wedges, carrots and celery on the bottom of the pot, then laid the seared roast on top of the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This is fantastic! I made this almost exactly as written - just added a little more mustard to avoid too much sweetness, and left out the beef stock (put in more beer for more liquid). With a dark ale this tastes rich & hearty, with the mustard really lifting the flavour... And the gravy! Pshew! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Laurel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
This is AMAZING! My kids even loved it... I would call this the BEST roast we've ever had. Will be sharing with all friends and family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Very good, but I will go back to my favorite recipe for roast. This recipe needed herbs of some kind for flavor. It was just not my best pot roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States