Octoberfest Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Wow this is so good. I love the flavors of the roast. I put onions on the top and bottom. It came out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pachina westbrooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Made this for the first time tonight. It was awesome!!! We cooked it in an oven bag and the roast was moist and delicious. Left out the nutmeg because wasn't sure about that. My husband was like "why are you looking up a recipe, just make regular roast"! He couldn't get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
My family loved it, I doubled it since I am feeding a crowd. I used Guinness and it made a wonderful gravy. I didn't get that it was too sweet like others. The only thing I would change would be to make a little more of the dijon mustard mix. I served mine with mashed potatoes and butternut squash. My husband had three platefuls, lol!! Thanks for an awesome way to make a roast beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Good, not amazing. Followed recipe except used crock pot to cook and used double broth in substitution for beer. Broth did not thicken enough to be "gravy" with amount of corn starch added. But was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheech

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Roast turned out tender. Just did not care for sweetness in the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
The meat was tender enough, just not very much flavor. It might have been the cut of meat I had on hand, a rump roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Very good, but I will go back to my favorite recipe for roast. This recipe needed herbs of some kind for flavor. It was just not my best pot roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
So delicious! I made this in a slow cooker, on low for 7-8 hours. I followed the ingredients exactly, except I used 2 cups of beer (a porter) and left out the beef stock. I added some baby carrots the last 2 hours of cook time so they didn't get too mushy. Served with some mashed potatoes and gravy made from the beef juices. The family really liked this one! Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
What a FANTASTIC option to take as opposed to the usual pot roast with potatoes, carrots, onions and celery. This is at the TOP of my recipe go-to list now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Jane~

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Per some of the other comments, made this with a full bottle of dark beer and correspondingly less broth. I used chicken broth since that's what I had on hand. Based on what others have said about the onions, I chose to dice the onions and put them on the bottom of the pot with some finely diced carrots and celery. As the roast cooked, the veggies turned into a terrific gravy with just a hint of sweetness from the onions and the brown sugar. When I make this again, I'll probably be more generous with the mustard glaze - the bite of the mustard makes a nice counterpoint to the slightly sweet gravy. I think I'll also brush on additional glaze periodically as the roast cooks. The nutmeg in the glaze is a nice, subtle touch that makes this roast especially good. Wife loved it - said it reminded her of the way her grandma cooked, which is high praise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States