Octoberfest German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
This is a great recipe, one handed down through many generations. My version is it a bit different as I add some dry mustard to dressing (make sure you mix your mayo, oil and vinegar well...this helps keep the coating adhered to the potatoes) then I add in a chopped hard boil egg. Also, if you quarter your potatoes, boil them till done (not mushy though) cool them a bit, the skins come off easily and you can cut them into bit size chunks. The flavor of the potato is better if you cook them with the skins on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
293 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
I served this at an Oktoberfest party recently and the crowd went wild! Even people who said they didn't like potato salad in general had to try some just from the raves everyone else was giving it! Be warned though, I nibbled on it just after making it - before it had time to sit for 24 hours - and I thought it would be horrible. I even went out and bought store-brand deli potato salad thinking I couldn't serve this at my party. It was amazing the difference some time in the fridge made!! Once the flavors had a chance to combine, this was the best potato salad I have had in a long time - I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
I prepared this for about 40 guests at my annual Octoberfest party and it was a big success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
I was looking for the Austrian potato salad I loved during my year in Austria. After several disasterous attempts with other recipes, I found this one and gave it a try. Though it didn't look or taste much like Austrian potato salad, it tasted WONDERFUL. I wanted to keep the whole bowl to myself! I used Miracle Whip instead of mayonnaise, which seemed to give it an added zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
I rarely have success with Potato Salad, but I followed this exactly and everyone LOVED it. It's easy and a keeper!!! The only potatoes I had were red. Did not peel-sliced them about 1/8" thick, added potatoes to boiling water and cooked for about 15 min. They came out just right for the salad. Update: Since the first time I made this recipe I cannot tell you how many times I've made it since - everyone loves it and keeps requesting me to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
This was a really good recipe. I used quartered red potatoes and it came out great. Definitely better the 2nd day...the vinegar aftertaste goes away completely after it sits in the fridge overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
I'm German and this is authentic. Thanks for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
This one is a keeper. Once you've tried it you'll make it over & over again! I scaled this recipe down for 2 & it turned out great. I also added a handful of Bacos, which gave it a little more zip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura DeMarte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Forest Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
Thank you so very much for this wonderful recipe. It is easy, and very pleasing to my whole family. In fact my son that doesn't even cook, asked how to do this, and he is able to make this one come out every time. It is perfect and one of my favorite's. A+ You can leave the potato skins on as well, it gives it a nice looks as well....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENACITY44

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chariton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Temple, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
Too much vinegar! Perhaps this dish needed more mayonnaise, but I don't know. Aside from the vinegar the potatoes were rather bland. It sure wasn't what I was expecting. I tried it hot and I tried it cold. I will have to look somewhere else on the net for a better recipe. I give it 3.5 with lots of room to improve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MinxyBaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Restaurant-Style Potato Salad

A quick and easy, creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States