Octoberfest German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This salad was delicious. I made for my friends and they loved it. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I made this for an Oktoberfest last year. Everyone really liked the flavor. I definitely plan to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieCakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Really great recipe. It tastes just like my Great-grandma used to make, and she was from Germany. The only change I made was using lime or lemon juice instead of vinegar since that is what she always did whenever she had the option. Doing this makes it taste more like a gourmet version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meezermex

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elberta, Alabama, USA
Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This was perfect for Oktoberfest. I've made it as the recipe states and it is great, but next time around I added my own flavor as usual. I felt bacon was in order for this recipe. so after cooking up the bacon, I sauteed the onion in the bacon grease. I did drain off the grease from the onions before adding, and then when making the dressing I reduced the oil by a TBLS or so. Everyone raved. Great with brats! Make the night before to really let all the flavors marry. TIP: Pour the dressing on the warm potatos and carefylly toss. Use red potatoes and dont peel just slice, it adds a nice color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
It bothers me when people rate a recipe but they changed it so much it's not even close to the original. So, before I say what I did, making this as is will be very good and you'll probably love it. I used red wine vin instead b/c I didn't have cider vin, added a tsp of spicy mustard to the sauce and added 2 boiled eggs and a couple of stalks of finely diced celerey for crunch, and it's killer. I am AWFUL at making potato salad, so I was pretty impressed. I also boiled the potatoes in their skins. I liked that idea. It's actually quicker & easlier to peel them that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by InletGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murrells Inlet, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by A&Hmommy
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Excellent!!! Added some sliced egg to it, and actually upped the mayo a bit, the vinager was a little strong for us... But totally wonderful and reminds us of the food they serve at Oktoberfest and the German-American Society!!! YUM YUM...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This is NOT a german style potato salad. I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
yummmm This was a sinch to make and possibly the best potatoe salad ever! I cant wait to serve it tonight. I didnt have quit the amounts above was a little short on mircale whip so I used half mayo half whip and was short on the vinegar, but it was still amazing. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Love to find a good recipe thats still healthy , but this potato salad is mouthwatering its so GOOD , really like the flavor and after taste and no EGGS and forget the bacon too absolutely loved it WELLGLORY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Tastes just like in Munich! I would go a little lighter on the mayo and a little heavier on the vinegar just for appearances sake but the taste is 100%
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa K

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North York, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 31-40 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States