Octoberfest German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
added diced bacon (thick cut, well done,3 strips), finely diced sweet carrot & red bell pepper (for color & taste, a 3+ tablespoons), scallions. Mixing mayo/oil/vinegar/sugar before is a good idea. Set for 10 hours resulting in immersed flavor ... Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I pour the vinegar over the warm potatoes and let them cool absorbing the vinegar before adding mayo, chopped onions, chopped celery, hard boiled eggs, little dijon mustard and some dill relish. Then refrigerate till cool. Sort of a mix between German and Southern!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judyc123

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Made this one for the family, said it was OK, but would rather have the other German potato salad than this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
This is an outstanding German potato salad! Even my picky teenager (who will NOT eat regular potato salad) eats this and asks for more. The only big change I made was to use a bit of dried dill in it for another layer of flavor. I did use red potatoes (which don't turn to mush when you boil them), and dehydrated minced onion for convenience. For those who are afraid to use the 2 teaspoons of salt listed, trust me - the potato salad NEEDS it. The people I know who have tried this recipe and didn't like it are the ones who wouldn't use the full amount of salt. It *does not* turn out salty (the potatoes absorb all of that wonderful flavor if you pour the dressing on while potatoes are still hot). Aside from the above mentioned tweaks, the recipe is perfect as originally written. This one is in my regular recipe rotation. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FAMILYJEANS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I leave the skin on the potatoes and just add diced celery and crumbled bacon and sometimes chopped hard-boiled eggs. I've made this recipe several times. Everyone loves it! My brother-in-law who never gets up to get seconds always gets seconds of this delicious Potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I found my potatos were over cooked but even mashed the flavor was excellent. I will try this again with red potatos. Someone said they stay together better. Its even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsford, New York, USA
Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Excellent dish! I didn't have parsley on hand so I substituted it with some rosemary and thyme. It turned out great! The cider vinegar gives it a wonderful flavor. Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This recipe is fantastic, but here are 2 quick fixes that make it perfect... Use 1/4 vinegar, instead of 1/2 cup and add an extra tbsp. or two of sugar. ^_^ Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This salad was delicious. I made for my friends and they loved it. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I made this for an Oktoberfest last year. Everyone really liked the flavor. I definitely plan to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieCakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States