Octoberfest German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I tried this at a party and the next day I HAD to make some for myself. It is delicious. I know some people don't like warm potato salad but this is the only way I would ever want to eat it. I added some caramelized onions to this and it turned out great. It is a little bit vinegary but you can just use less of it. Fresh cracked pepper is great with this dish as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
My husband is German & loved this potato salad! Asked for me to save the recipe so we can have it again. Did add a couple extra potatoes to balance out the cider vinegar. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Powell, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Made this for an event and it was well received. I'm more of a vinegar based fan for my german potato salad. This was more of a southern style to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orland, California, USA
Living In: Rockport, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I love this as a potato salad, and really didn't change anything, but I love the sauce for my green salads as well. I mix 1/2 cup plain Fage greek yogurt, 1/8 cup olive oil, 1/2 cup apple cider vinegar, 3 packets Truvia, the parsley and the pepper in a large bowl, then pour it into a salad dressing bottle to have on hand. Both my husband and four-year-old daughter have asked for me to make the dressing when we've run out. We hit the jackpot with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Easy to make and yummy with frankfurters and beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Big success! Didnt change anything! Although it does taste better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
We loved it!!!!!! .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Yum! Made this in the a.m. for supper in the evening & served it on a small salad plate on spinach & salad greens (yeah, more greens worked into the meal!) w/small'sh carrot sticks & fresh baked rye bread on the side, all as accompaniments to red beans seasoned with sauerkraut, caraway, & yellow mustard (one of my favorite, vegetarian fall dishes). It was nice to finally have a great side to go with that bean soup. My husband, daughter & I all thought this was terrific. One of our sons wanted a tad less vinegar, but enjoyed the salad without an overnight-melding. However, one of our sons still despises cold potatoes. Next time he'll try this hot? I minced the onion somewhat fine, but it still had a nice crispness to it when we ate the salad (I have quite a bit of chopped onion leftover from a party this weekend-so heeped the 1/2 C measure a little) & it was the just right amount. I have trouble w/white sugar, so I used 1 Tbsp raw sugar and equiv. of 1 Tbsp stevia. Otherwise, made this recipe as written (well, my potatoes overcooked just a tiny bit, but I thought the texture was great when the slices fell apart a bit). Now I'm wondering whether or not I'll toy with the recipe by adding more onion, just to see if more is still good, or trying thinly sliced celery, or an egg, as other reviewers have, or possibly adding a touch of dill. Both my husband & I wondered how that would taste. But I'm only thinking that because I'm sure we'll be making this again! Thanks luvs2bake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Delicious and a huge hit at dinner! I made it with the German style pork chops. I did tweek the recipe a wee bit however. I blended the vegetable oil with an equal portion of the bacon drippings. Also I added two hard boiled eggs sliced along with a full package of the very thinly sliced bacon (cut the bacon when it is parfrozen at a 90 to the strips in cuts about a half inch in width; cook the bacon, drain it and let it set up to a nice crunchy bite). Mix the bacon into the diced potato bowl and fold in the balance of the mixture. I would also suggest a pinch of ground yellow mustard. Let the whole salad chill for about an hour and serve as a cold side dish alongside the German Style pork chops. Mmmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bruce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Payson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This went together very quickly and I was eager to try it, but decided to give it some "standing time". I actually waited 36 hours before serving it with sauerkraut and sausage. We found the vinegar still over-powering even after sitting for a day and a half. I will cut the vinegar by half and try it again. Fifteen minutes for the potatoes was too much. I cooked mine for 12 minutes and they still turned mushy when I stirred them together with the dressing. I like the idea of slicing them instead of cutting in chunks, so I will try 10 minutes next time. Next time I will also try a different herb than parsley. Parsley is too bland in this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States