Octoberfest German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
My roommates both raved about this- and they don't like conventional potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Bennett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Clearlake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I don't particularly like 'real German' potato salad. I made this for Oktoberfest and it was a hit. All my Austrian friends and family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyauck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
My boyfriend loves potato salad. I tried this recipe as a change of pace and he can't stop talking about it. He said this is the best potatoe salad he has ever had. The only changes I made were to cut the oil in half and toss in crumbled bacon. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
This is so yummy! And lighter than 'typical' potato salads. I've had many compliments and requests for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Excellent recipe. I used a combination of red and russet potatoes with sweet onion. I kept all of the ratios the same. Just what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Laird
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Photo by ildefonso
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Overall a good recipe. If I make it again I will only add 1/2 the vinegar and a cup of mayo. It seemed to be missing something. I might add some more pepper and onion powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ildefonso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
I made it using 1/2 the vinegar. Added dried dill, chopped onion and celery, salt and pepper. I have eaten half of it already! It has mellowed as the day wears on. The dressing seemed very soupy but the potatoes must soak it up. I had refrigerated the boiled potatoes overnight, so I heated them up in the microwave,chopped them up and then added the dressing. I also added 2 chopped hard boiled eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
this is an excellent recipe, i grew up with my grandmother making german potato salad, and it wasn't like the think type you find in the stores. This recipe is as close to it as I've come. I didn't have any parsley on hand, so i used 2tsp of dried dill...wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This was my first attempt at making potato salad. I followed everything exactly and it was a disaster. I cooked the potatoes for 15 minutes, which ended up being way to long. In the end, I had lumpy mashed potatoes with a wierd vinegary flavor. I took it to 3 different gatherings and no one would eat it. Embarrassing! Thanks anyway though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mattawan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
This was really, really good! I followed the recipe exactly, and wouldn't change a thing, except I am thinking I might add a little dill next time. Also, be sure to let it sit at least an hour before serving (the longer the better!). The initial taste isn't nearly as good as after this has had time to sit a while. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calizen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States