Octoberfest German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Have made this several times for the family and for guests...quick, tasty and extremely easy!! Tastes great warm or cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocky Ford, Colorado, USA
Living In: Northglenn, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
i adore this!!! I'm always looking for quick, yummy recipes to try since i love packing lunch for my husband. and i really want to keep mixing it up.. i made this for him together with Hungarian sausage and beer soaked caramelized onions... he loved the combination! didn't have parsley so i used chives instead... still awesome. this recipe is definitely a keeper! thank you for this!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I tried this at a party and the next day I HAD to make some for myself. It is delicious. I know some people don't like warm potato salad but this is the only way I would ever want to eat it. I added some caramelized onions to this and it turned out great. It is a little bit vinegary but you can just use less of it. Fresh cracked pepper is great with this dish as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
My husband is German & loved this potato salad! Asked for me to save the recipe so we can have it again. Did add a couple extra potatoes to balance out the cider vinegar. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Powell, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Made this for an event and it was well received. I'm more of a vinegar based fan for my german potato salad. This was more of a southern style to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orland, California, USA
Living In: Rockport, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I love this as a potato salad, and really didn't change anything, but I love the sauce for my green salads as well. I mix 1/2 cup plain Fage greek yogurt, 1/8 cup olive oil, 1/2 cup apple cider vinegar, 3 packets Truvia, the parsley and the pepper in a large bowl, then pour it into a salad dressing bottle to have on hand. Both my husband and four-year-old daughter have asked for me to make the dressing when we've run out. We hit the jackpot with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Easy to make and yummy with frankfurters and beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Big success! Didnt change anything! Although it does taste better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
We loved it!!!!!! .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Yum! Made this in the a.m. for supper in the evening & served it on a small salad plate on spinach & salad greens (yeah, more greens worked into the meal!) w/small'sh carrot sticks & fresh baked rye bread on the side, all as accompaniments to red beans seasoned with sauerkraut, caraway, & yellow mustard (one of my favorite, vegetarian fall dishes). It was nice to finally have a great side to go with that bean soup. My husband, daughter & I all thought this was terrific. One of our sons wanted a tad less vinegar, but enjoyed the salad without an overnight-melding. However, one of our sons still despises cold potatoes. Next time he'll try this hot? I minced the onion somewhat fine, but it still had a nice crispness to it when we ate the salad (I have quite a bit of chopped onion leftover from a party this weekend-so heeped the 1/2 C measure a little) & it was the just right amount. I have trouble w/white sugar, so I used 1 Tbsp raw sugar and equiv. of 1 Tbsp stevia. Otherwise, made this recipe as written (well, my potatoes overcooked just a tiny bit, but I thought the texture was great when the slices fell apart a bit). Now I'm wondering whether or not I'll toy with the recipe by adding more onion, just to see if more is still good, or trying thinly sliced celery, or an egg, as other reviewers have, or possibly adding a touch of dill. Both my husband & I wondered how that would taste. But I'm only thinking that because I'm sure we'll be making this again! Thanks luvs2bake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States