Octoberfest German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
Emily loves this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mohegan Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
Minxybaby is wrong. I am so used to folks making sweet German potato salad and that is not what my grandmother made. This was so close to my grandmothers Texas German potato salad that I swore she was standing beside me in the kitchen giving me pointers. Luvs2bake, than you for the memories. This took me back 50 years and put a smile on my face. Wunderbar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
This is a GREAT recipe! My husband came across this one when he was looking for something different and this fit the bill. When we first tried it we COMPLETELY agreed with the reviews that said it was too much vinegar and was a bit disappointed, but trying it the next day was a different story. It was AMAZING!! I am dying to try it with some boiled eggs and celery thrown in with it but my husband is a purist. :) have also subbed the rice vinegar for the cider vinegar with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pettitmommie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
super easy to make and tastes great! ended up more like mashed potatoes so I need to cook them less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Terrific potato salad. My husband,German, thinks it is the best ever. I like American potato salad but thought I'd give this a try for him. It is a hit with friends as well. Perfect. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
We decided to do our own Oktoberfest at home and I made this potato salad. It was very easy and a big hit with the family. After reading several reviews I went with the suggestions to make it ahead and put it in the fridge the night before. The only change I made to the recipe was I omitted the dried parsley (didn't have it on hand) and substituted dried dill. The dressing seemed like too much when I poured it on but after sitting overnight it was perfect. Not too soggy, not too dry. It went perfectly with the sausage and sauerkraut. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Great authentic recipe! I boil my red skin potatoes in vegetable broth and it adds more flavor to the salad. I make the salad one day before and let it chill in the fridge. That really enhances the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by proverbs3125

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hannover, Niedersachsen, Germany
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I love this potato salad. Perfect just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Wasn't sure how this would turn out but it was great! My husband is picky when it comes to any type of Potato Salad but he said this would be great to make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Be sure to let this refrigerate for 24 hours. It is really great! I added real bacon bits the second time I made it for my bacon loving family, it was good too! It's a keeper for German potato salad fans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Restaurant-Style Potato Salad

A quick and easy, creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States