Octoberfest German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Terrific potato salad. My husband,German, thinks it is the best ever. I like American potato salad but thought I'd give this a try for him. It is a hit with friends as well. Perfect. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
We decided to do our own Oktoberfest at home and I made this potato salad. It was very easy and a big hit with the family. After reading several reviews I went with the suggestions to make it ahead and put it in the fridge the night before. The only change I made to the recipe was I omitted the dried parsley (didn't have it on hand) and substituted dried dill. The dressing seemed like too much when I poured it on but after sitting overnight it was perfect. Not too soggy, not too dry. It went perfectly with the sausage and sauerkraut. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Great authentic recipe! I boil my red skin potatoes in vegetable broth and it adds more flavor to the salad. I make the salad one day before and let it chill in the fridge. That really enhances the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by proverbs3125

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hannover, Niedersachsen, Germany
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I love this potato salad. Perfect just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Wasn't sure how this would turn out but it was great! My husband is picky when it comes to any type of Potato Salad but he said this would be great to make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Be sure to let this refrigerate for 24 hours. It is really great! I added real bacon bits the second time I made it for my bacon loving family, it was good too! It's a keeper for German potato salad fans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Have made this several times for the family and for guests...quick, tasty and extremely easy!! Tastes great warm or cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocky Ford, Colorado, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
i adore this!!! I'm always looking for quick, yummy recipes to try since i love packing lunch for my husband. and i really want to keep mixing it up.. i made this for him together with Hungarian sausage and beer soaked caramelized onions... he loved the combination! didn't have parsley so i used chives instead... still awesome. this recipe is definitely a keeper! thank you for this!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I tried this at a party and the next day I HAD to make some for myself. It is delicious. I know some people don't like warm potato salad but this is the only way I would ever want to eat it. I added some caramelized onions to this and it turned out great. It is a little bit vinegary but you can just use less of it. Fresh cracked pepper is great with this dish as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
My husband is German & loved this potato salad! Asked for me to save the recipe so we can have it again. Did add a couple extra potatoes to balance out the cider vinegar. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Powell, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States