October Oatmeal Pumpkin Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Excellent! I loved the base of the recipe. I made substitutions/additions based on our lifestyle: Substituted egg whites for eggs, water for milk, brown sugar for white sugar, old fashioned oats for quick oats, molasses for maple syrup. Added 1 tsp vanilla, 2 scoops protein powder, 1/4 cup each ground flax and chia seeds and 1/2 cup chopped nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I have gall bladder problems and was looking for something low fat to make for the holidays. This recipe has no oil! And the muffins are soft and moist. Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I increased the baking powder/baking soda to a full teaspoon each, used pure maple syrup and because I did not have quick cooking oats on hand, I ran equal amounts old fashioned oats down through my blender until it was the consistancy of whole wheat flour. I was able to get 12 big muffins out of one recipe. Baked at 350*, they were done at 22 minutes. My family loved these muffins, they are GONE. We seriously at them all at breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Great muffins, very moist and flavourful. Recipe actually makes closer to 7 or 8 muffins, or maybe my muffin pan is just smaller. They are quite sweet, almost more of a dessert than a breakfast item, although so tasty you will want to eat them first thing in the morning anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Excellent! Very moist. Used buttermilk vs regular milk and added raisins, walnuts and diced candied ginger. Perfect at 23 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Delicious, moist and tender muffin. Got the "thumbs up" too from DH who is a fussy eater. I even cut the white sugar back to 1/4 c. and did spices to taste (I didn't have pumpkin pie spice so I also added ginger and cloves). I like how much pumpkin this recipe uses and will make these again for sure. Next time I will add crushed walnuts. Thanks EW2012!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
These were so moist & full of flavor. I used whole wheat pastry flour & omitted the maple syrup. Next time I'll add the oatmeal with the other dry ingredients. I doubled the recipe & got 18 regular sized muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K8BUG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quartz Hill, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
These muffins are a huge hit with the pumpkin lovers in my family. In fact, I'll need to do a double batch this afternoon as per my order (you can't deny little granddaughters!). I got ten good-sized muffins from this, all moist and yummy. I suggest letting them cool for a few hours to peel away the liners if you use them because they are so moist the papers stick otherwise. I followed the recipe using my own mix of pumpkin pie spice (recipe here on AR), and for the nutmeg I used a healthy dose of a special mix of apple pie spice that contains cardamom I was gifted by my friend ~Lissa~. They took 25 minutes in the oven before the tops sprang back lightly. Thanks for making me popular with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Indiana Peggy
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Easy to make and delicious. Healthier than many other recipes. I increased the number of servings to 8 and let the recipe recalculate ingredient amounts so that I could use the entire can (15 oz) of pumpkin. I got 12 cupcake sized muffins and a mini loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
These did not turn out for me. They didn't have any flavor and were quite dense. No one really wanted a second one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Addictive Pumpkin Muffins

These delicious muffins are a low-fat version of a pumpkin bread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States