October Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Trying this recipe may have been a mistake as I've had to bake one almost every week to fill my family's requests for MORE! I use granny smith apples, so I don't decrease the sugar as some recommended and the flavor is perfect. If you use juicy apples, a little extra flour will keep the pie from getting runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
My family loved this pie its now requested for the holidays. I added a couple more caramels to it and more apples. it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
This pie is excellent! I used Granny Smiths, decreased the sugar a bit, added extra carmels (that melted just fine). This is the pie I will take for all holidays! You must try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
What a fun recipe! I would add a couple of more caramels. My family loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
I made this pie over the weekend, and had my dad and best friend tell me it was the best apple pie they ever ate. I'll say this is a keeper. My only change is that I will maybe try caramel apple dip drizzled in there instead of the candies next time. They didnt' melt very well. Still very yummy and apple-y! I used granny smiths.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
I used a combination of Cortlands and Macs. Next time I'll use Granny Smiths though. I wanted more of a carmel flavor so I added a few more but I cut down on the white sugar, only 1/8 cup so it wasn't too sweet. Next time I'll leave it out all together. Everyone enjoyed it, even with a store bought crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
This was disappointing after the great reviews. I cooked it for 15 minutes longer than the recipe stated, but the apples still weren't done all the way (I did slice them thinly, too). The caramel sauce, too, was very runny, even though I let the pie set up for 4 hours before serving it. Oh well. The taste was good, even if it was a mess! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
This pie is now a favorite. Only suggestions are to reduce white sugar by 1 or 2 TBL.(caramel & 2 kinds of sugar made it overly sweet) and also reduce butter to 2 or 3 TBL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Beaver, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2001
I cheated and used a ready-made pie crust...but this recipe was still great. I didn't really taste much of the carmel in it, so I'm going to try to put a couple more in next time I make it. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARISUENICHOLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2001
I made this recipe for a "Bake-Off" where I work and it won 3rd place out of 20 entries and then we auctioned the winners off and this pie was the highest seller at $27! I have orders to make this for my co-workers for their Thanksgiving dinner. This is a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTIE HOLTERMAN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States