October Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
I really liked this apple pie and definetly will make it again. I read some reviews where people were having problems with the caramel not melting. I think the trick is depending on what type of caramel you use. Kraft makes caramels that can be eaten as candy or used for baking. You can find them in the candy aisle inside Wal-mart. I mixed all the dry ingredients together first so that it blended evenly with the apples. It came out a little runny, but I added a little more flour to thicken it up. My guess was the lemon juice thinned it out quiet a bit. Next time, I am going to add the lemon juice to the apples, let it soak for a few minutes, drain half the excess, and then incorporate the dry mixture. Another thing, the recipe calls for 6cups of apples. I used Granny Smith and five (2.5 lbs) of them made approx 6cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
Everyone loved this pie it was gone so fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
A very nice recipe. Once in a while I prefer one a little less sweet and a little more tangy. Definitly a good one to add into your rotation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
Absolutly excellent pie!!! I have made pies for years, and I tried this one last thanksgiving. It was an absolute hit, it was gone within seconds! This Christmas I'll be making two since it obviously wasn't enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
This is an excellent apple pie (especially if you make your own crust). Spring for the fresh crushed nutmeg if you don't have any, because the smell/taste is worth it. The caramels, unfortunately, didn't add any real taste difference compared to plain apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
Totally awesome. Delicious and easily to make. Everyone loved it. One piece is not enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
Success!!! This pie is fabulous! It was so easy to make and the caramel added so much to what could have just an ordinary apple pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
I didn't feel that this pie was any better than a regular apple pie. I used Jonathan apples and the caramel squares as the recipe called for. I did decrease the white sugar and cinnamon. The caramels melted to make this unappetizing looking brown gak in the filling. It still tasted good, but I prefer regular old apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
This pie was delicious. I did cut the white sugar to 1/4 cup, and I increased the cinnamon to 2 1/2 teaspoons because I like cinnamon. I did bake the pie about 10 minutes longer than the recipes states. Also, instead of a two crust pie I use a bottom crust and then I use an apple crisp box mix for the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
Absolutely wonderful! The caramel was a great addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States