October Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
The caramel MAKES this recipe!! I made my own caramel and it was delicious!! I cannot imagine making this without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess015

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This is a keeper. I left out the caramel because I didn't have any, but followed the rest by the recipe (which I rarely do) and it was sooooo delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L.Cumminger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I thought this pie was very good and so did the other 3 of my family members that ate it at dinner last night. But I think it had too much lemon (I didn't even use all of my lemon because it was very juicy) and I couldn't really taste the caramel in it. There were some unmelted pieces in the pie though. I think next time I will use the caramel syrup and only 1 tablespoon or so of lemon. The consistency of the filling was very nice, not runny as some pies are. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
no carmel became too hard, and pie was soupy. Looked great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Enfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This was easy and fantastic!! It was my first attempt at making a pie, and everyone in my family loved it. I'll definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I used some sweeter apples from my tree. When I was cutting them I soaked them in lemon water, so I didn't bother adding any lemon juice to the mixture. I also used 18 caramels (I got the kind that are used for caramel apples and they melted nicely). Because of the sweet apples and extra caramels, I cut the sugar in half (1/4 cup for each). I mixed the dry ingredients together before adding the cut up butter, caramels and apples. I cheated and used the pre-made refrigerator pie crusts because I didn't have time to make my own. Very sweet, but very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
this was my first time making apple pie. i used apple pies spice instead of the spices seperatly. my husband and dad said it was better the his sister which she been making for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Casco, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This pie was amazing! After baking it, I realized I'd forgotten to add the diced butter and it was still delicious! A definite keeper for our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elise
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I have made a lot of apple pies, one that even took the top prize in a pie contest; this pie, however, beats even my best previous attempts. It was quickly gobbled up by my entire family (and I picked at it in the middle of the night!) My mom commented on how it was nice because it was sweeter than your average apple pie. I followed the recipe, only I don't measure things exactly, I guesstimated - and it was perfect. I used MacIntosh apples which produce a bit more juice than some others, but they have the best flavor. Also, instead of using separate spices I just used 2 tsps of Pumpkin Pie spice, and it was perfect. Great fall pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I have gotten so many compliments on this pie. Most people say that it is the best apple pie that they have ever tasted. Do not change a thing in this recipe - SO GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States