October Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Instead of using caramel squares I used caramel topping in a jar...much easier than having to melt squares! I also used Granny Smith and Cortland Apples (3 cups of each) Awesome recipe thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Used new Kraft caramel bits in place of caramels. Easier than cutting up caramels. Use about 72 bits in place of the nine caramels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I have to say this is hands down the best apple pie I've ever had! I used half Grannysmith apples and half golden delicious which made for an amazing combination. the sauce was a little thin even after cooling so next time I'll double the amount of flour. If you're like me, the crust makes or breaks the pie so take the time to make your own! I used the "Never Fail Pie Crust II," recipe and it came out wonderfully flaky and delicious. this recipe makes enough for two pies(you can use 4 sticks of butter in place of shortening and add 1/2c more flour for consistency and no water)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
instead of adding extra flour try adding some uncooked tapioca maybe a tablespoon or two, it really works wonderful the tapioca thickens up the juice makes it look like pie filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Rucker, Alabama, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
The caramel MAKES this recipe!! I made my own caramel and it was delicious!! I cannot imagine making this without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess015

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This is a keeper. I left out the caramel because I didn't have any, but followed the rest by the recipe (which I rarely do) and it was sooooo delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L.Cumminger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I thought this pie was very good and so did the other 3 of my family members that ate it at dinner last night. But I think it had too much lemon (I didn't even use all of my lemon because it was very juicy) and I couldn't really taste the caramel in it. There were some unmelted pieces in the pie though. I think next time I will use the caramel syrup and only 1 tablespoon or so of lemon. The consistency of the filling was very nice, not runny as some pies are. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
no carmel became too hard, and pie was soupy. Looked great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Enfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This was easy and fantastic!! It was my first attempt at making a pie, and everyone in my family loved it. I'll definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I used some sweeter apples from my tree. When I was cutting them I soaked them in lemon water, so I didn't bother adding any lemon juice to the mixture. I also used 18 caramels (I got the kind that are used for caramel apples and they melted nicely). Because of the sweet apples and extra caramels, I cut the sugar in half (1/4 cup for each). I mixed the dry ingredients together before adding the cut up butter, caramels and apples. I cheated and used the pre-made refrigerator pie crusts because I didn't have time to make my own. Very sweet, but very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States