October Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
This is the apple pie recipe I have to make for my family. They love it. I found this years ago just never reviewed it. I leave out the nutmeg and do a heaping on the cinnamon. The Carmel's really do make this pie special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen A Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I really liked this recipe with the caramel. I thought it would be easier to change the order of the directions, so I did mine like this: 1) I cored, sliced, and peeled my apples, put the lemon juice over them and set them aside. 2) Then I made a crumble to go on top with brown sugar, butter, flour, and pecans, and set that aside. 3) In a saucepan, I melted the caramel and butter (I got the caramel bits for baking that Kraft makes) and added in the sugar and spices. Once I got that nice and smooth, I added in the apples and the flour until I got it to a nice consistency. Then I loaded it into the pie crust and topped it with the crumble. Delish!! I'm only giving it 4 stars because the filling was runny until I added a bit more flour, and the white sugar was unnecessary altogether (which I omitted anyway). Had I included that, it likely would have been way too sweet. But nonetheless, it was pretty darn good! Oh, and I had to serve it with a scoop of vanilla ice cream to top it off. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I had some homemade caramel left over from Christmas so I used several teaspoons instead of the other caramel. It was soooo delicious, the only change I would make is to melt the butter and caramel or at least soften slightly in microwave. My company raved and I was pleased with the results. Next time I will make 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Made this for Thanksgiving came out great did what everyone recommended and used a little bit of extra flour and used a deep dish pie pan just to be on the safe side and had no issues, I will be making this again in the future
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This was very tasty and a perfect end to Thanksgiving dinner. I only used 1/2 a lemon juiced and it still turned out runny but next time I will add the little extra flour. Also it calls for thinly sliced apples but next time I think I will leave them thicker as I am not a fan of mushy apples. I also used granny smith and the flavor and sweetness were perfect. Also note if using a deep dish pie plate needs more apples....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollinhead77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandiswan23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencer, Indiana, USA
Living In: Linton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
as written 4 stars. 2nd make, I decreased the cinnamon by half and increased flour to 1/4 cup and deleted the butter and increase the camamel by 2 candies. I used the butter crust from this site. I will use this recipe with my changes for the rest of my days.... fantastic thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Sobrante, California, USA
Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was a hit! Super easy and this is coming from someone who does not cook often unless it's in a box. I plan on making it again for Christmas :) I peeled and cubed 6 small green apples and it made 6 cups worth. I also bought the Target brand Market Pantry pie dough and it turned out really flaky and yummy. I also bought lemon juice used the amount it said was worth one lemon juiced. Just a couple of shortcuts that made the prep easier for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Yum!! Made for Thanksgiving. No changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Delicious!!! I used 4 granny smith apples, 1/3 cup white sugar, no brown sugar, 3/4 tsp lemon juice, 1 tsp cinnamon, and followed the rest of the ingredients/directions as written. It was sweet enough with my changes, love the caramels in it. I did turn down the heat as recommended, and covered my crust with foil to prevent burning. Would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States