October Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
I've made this recipe a number of times and have always gotten rave reviews. Make sure that you at least use high-quality caramels (name brand like Brach's or Kraft, not an off brand). Even better, make your own by heating condensed milk in a slow cooker and drizzle it over the top before putting the top crust on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
This is the apple pie recipe I have to make for my family. They love it. I found this years ago just never reviewed it. I leave out the nutmeg and do a heaping on the cinnamon. The Carmel's really do make this pie special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen A Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I really liked this recipe with the caramel. I thought it would be easier to change the order of the directions, so I did mine like this: 1) I cored, sliced, and peeled my apples, put the lemon juice over them and set them aside. 2) Then I made a crumble to go on top with brown sugar, butter, flour, and pecans, and set that aside. 3) In a saucepan, I melted the caramel and butter (I got the caramel bits for baking that Kraft makes) and added in the sugar and spices. Once I got that nice and smooth, I added in the apples and the flour until I got it to a nice consistency. Then I loaded it into the pie crust and topped it with the crumble. Delish!! I'm only giving it 4 stars because the filling was runny until I added a bit more flour, and the white sugar was unnecessary altogether (which I omitted anyway). Had I included that, it likely would have been way too sweet. But nonetheless, it was pretty darn good! Oh, and I had to serve it with a scoop of vanilla ice cream to top it off. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I had some homemade caramel left over from Christmas so I used several teaspoons instead of the other caramel. It was soooo delicious, the only change I would make is to melt the butter and caramel or at least soften slightly in microwave. My company raved and I was pleased with the results. Next time I will make 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Made this for Thanksgiving came out great did what everyone recommended and used a little bit of extra flour and used a deep dish pie pan just to be on the safe side and had no issues, I will be making this again in the future
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This was very tasty and a perfect end to Thanksgiving dinner. I only used 1/2 a lemon juiced and it still turned out runny but next time I will add the little extra flour. Also it calls for thinly sliced apples but next time I think I will leave them thicker as I am not a fan of mushy apples. I also used granny smith and the flavor and sweetness were perfect. Also note if using a deep dish pie plate needs more apples....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollinhead77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandiswan23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencer, Indiana, USA
Living In: Linton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
as written 4 stars. 2nd make, I decreased the cinnamon by half and increased flour to 1/4 cup and deleted the butter and increase the camamel by 2 candies. I used the butter crust from this site. I will use this recipe with my changes for the rest of my days.... fantastic thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Sobrante, California, USA
Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was a hit! Super easy and this is coming from someone who does not cook often unless it's in a box. I plan on making it again for Christmas :) I peeled and cubed 6 small green apples and it made 6 cups worth. I also bought the Target brand Market Pantry pie dough and it turned out really flaky and yummy. I also bought lemon juice used the amount it said was worth one lemon juiced. Just a couple of shortcuts that made the prep easier for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Yum!! Made for Thanksgiving. No changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States