October Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
What a fun recipe! I would add a couple of more caramels. My family loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
I made this pie over the weekend, and had my dad and best friend tell me it was the best apple pie they ever ate. I'll say this is a keeper. My only change is that I will maybe try caramel apple dip drizzled in there instead of the candies next time. They didnt' melt very well. Still very yummy and apple-y! I used granny smiths.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
I used a combination of Cortlands and Macs. Next time I'll use Granny Smiths though. I wanted more of a carmel flavor so I added a few more but I cut down on the white sugar, only 1/8 cup so it wasn't too sweet. Next time I'll leave it out all together. Everyone enjoyed it, even with a store bought crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
This was disappointing after the great reviews. I cooked it for 15 minutes longer than the recipe stated, but the apples still weren't done all the way (I did slice them thinly, too). The caramel sauce, too, was very runny, even though I let the pie set up for 4 hours before serving it. Oh well. The taste was good, even if it was a mess! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
This pie is now a favorite. Only suggestions are to reduce white sugar by 1 or 2 TBL.(caramel & 2 kinds of sugar made it overly sweet) and also reduce butter to 2 or 3 TBL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Beaver, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2001
I cheated and used a ready-made pie crust...but this recipe was still great. I didn't really taste much of the carmel in it, so I'm going to try to put a couple more in next time I make it. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARISUENICHOLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2001
I made this recipe for a "Bake-Off" where I work and it won 3rd place out of 20 entries and then we auctioned the winners off and this pie was the highest seller at $27! I have orders to make this for my co-workers for their Thanksgiving dinner. This is a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTIE HOLTERMAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
I must admit I cheated and bought one of those refridgerated pie crusts. It was still delicious! I think I could have cut down on the white sugar by a tablespoon or two because the caramels would make up for it. Very sweet but yummy!! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2001
I made this pie for a party and it was a HUGE hit. I had 2 people tell me it was the best apple pie they had ever had. This is an awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2001
I thought it was a touch too sweet. Next time, I'll decrease the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DonnaSAdams

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States