October Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
It's an OK recipe not fantastic. I used granny smith apples, and I couldn't find out why putting butter with the apple, didn't seem to make any difference. Sorry, I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2003
This is one of the best apple pies that I've tasted! Thanks Adele
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flyingfree74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
I have made this pie 2 years in a row now, after picking the apples at a local orchard. It has received rave reviews each time I've made it...people always ask what the secret ingredient is that makes it taste so great (I think it's the caramels). I tripled the recipe and froze two unbaked pies, which reheat very well. I have not needed to make any modifications, but I will say that using caramel apple dip is easier than quartering individual caramel candies (and tastes the same). Thanks, Adele, for providing the recipe for a new family tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
I really should give this five stars, because I was the only one who didn't care for it. And that's really just because I don't like apples. I served this to four other people and they LOVED it!! Word to the wise: Definitely stick with the caramel squares and if you can't find any, wait until you do. I tried to substitute them with caramel sauce--the kind in the jar--and althought it still tasted delicious, it was a HUGE mess to cook. I had to throw out a cookie sheet and clean out my oven (which was in awful need of a cleaning anyway, I just needed that extra push to do it! lol) because the sauce basically turned to water and spilled out of the pie. I bought two frozen extra deep pie crusts. I took one and flattened it, cut out long strips and criss-crossed them over the top. The pie looked GORGEOUS. It was like something out of a cookbook. People raved about how pretty it was almost as much as they raved about the taste. Excellent desert if you're looking to casually impress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
This was my first ever attempt at Apple Pie, or any double-crusted pie for that matter, and after making this, I'm not scared anymore! I did not alter the recipe at all, and it came out perfect! I must say that this was the most delicious apple pie I have ever tasted! Thank You So Much! :^P 10/06 - I am adding to this review to re-iterate the goodness of this pie. I have made it every year since my first time in '03, and it is still my family's favorite. It was a little runny this year, but my lemon was huge (shouldn't have used ALL the juice!) Next year I will either use half a lemon or add a little more flour. This is definitely a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2003
melted the caramel candies before putting in mixture but it got hard w/ the colder ingredients. so put everything but caramel clumps into the pie then reheated the caramel and spread it atop the apples before the top crust. pretty messy but a beautiful taste that got raves! the pie plate was licked clean. next time will use caramel ice cream topping (needs more carmel kick). also less white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
Carmels didn't melt completely but still delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Trying this recipe may have been a mistake as I've had to bake one almost every week to fill my family's requests for MORE! I use granny smith apples, so I don't decrease the sugar as some recommended and the flavor is perfect. If you use juicy apples, a little extra flour will keep the pie from getting runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
My family loved this pie its now requested for the holidays. I added a couple more caramels to it and more apples. it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
This pie is excellent! I used Granny Smiths, decreased the sugar a bit, added extra carmels (that melted just fine). This is the pie I will take for all holidays! You must try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States