October Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
The caramel MAKES this recipe!! I made my own caramel and it was delicious!! I cannot imagine making this without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess015

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This is a keeper. I left out the caramel because I didn't have any, but followed the rest by the recipe (which I rarely do) and it was sooooo delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L.Cumminger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I thought this pie was very good and so did the other 3 of my family members that ate it at dinner last night. But I think it had too much lemon (I didn't even use all of my lemon because it was very juicy) and I couldn't really taste the caramel in it. There were some unmelted pieces in the pie though. I think next time I will use the caramel syrup and only 1 tablespoon or so of lemon. The consistency of the filling was very nice, not runny as some pies are. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
no carmel became too hard, and pie was soupy. Looked great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Enfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This was easy and fantastic!! It was my first attempt at making a pie, and everyone in my family loved it. I'll definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I used some sweeter apples from my tree. When I was cutting them I soaked them in lemon water, so I didn't bother adding any lemon juice to the mixture. I also used 18 caramels (I got the kind that are used for caramel apples and they melted nicely). Because of the sweet apples and extra caramels, I cut the sugar in half (1/4 cup for each). I mixed the dry ingredients together before adding the cut up butter, caramels and apples. I cheated and used the pre-made refrigerator pie crusts because I didn't have time to make my own. Very sweet, but very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
this was my first time making apple pie. i used apple pies spice instead of the spices seperatly. my husband and dad said it was better the his sister which she been making for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Casco, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This pie was amazing! After baking it, I realized I'd forgotten to add the diced butter and it was still delicious! A definite keeper for our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elise
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I have made a lot of apple pies, one that even took the top prize in a pie contest; this pie, however, beats even my best previous attempts. It was quickly gobbled up by my entire family (and I picked at it in the middle of the night!) My mom commented on how it was nice because it was sweeter than your average apple pie. I followed the recipe, only I don't measure things exactly, I guesstimated - and it was perfect. I used MacIntosh apples which produce a bit more juice than some others, but they have the best flavor. Also, instead of using separate spices I just used 2 tsps of Pumpkin Pie spice, and it was perfect. Great fall pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I have gotten so many compliments on this pie. Most people say that it is the best apple pie that they have ever tasted. Do not change a thing in this recipe - SO GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States