October Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
There's something great about adding that lemon juice...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I have been making this pie for years. It was one of the first recipes I used from this website. I've gotten major compliments from it. My favorite pie is apple & the melted caramel areas are so tastey. My only problem is that if the apples are very sweet, the pie is too sweet so I've learned to adjust the amoumt of sugar I add by tasting the apples first. I never put the sugar on top the top crust either just because I don't like it that way on any pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Osburn, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
A great twist on an old favorite! Having no caramel squares on hand, I use caramel Torani syrup and just cut the white sugar by 50%. Worked like a charm. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by comicfairy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollister, California, USA
Living In: Rohnert Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Used fresh picked apples from the orchard (about 4 different varieties) and wow. This is hands down the best apple pie I've ever had. Making another one this week since we have so many apples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Sweet. I had made this as the first time making a whole pie from scratch for yesrs and my dough was not working well for me and I figured out I needed to put it inbetween 2 pieces of plastic wrap. I tried to bake it and was hoping the filling would turn out so I can at least determine if I like it. I did not add the caramel at all to this dish, and it was very sweet. I could not imagine having it with the caramel as it would put the sweetness over the top for me. Some do like it sweet however, and I did like the spices, but again, I think a little too much cinnamon. Unfortunately, this was not the pie for me with the sweetness, but I am sure would be a great hit with those that do have that sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babs2574

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Two Harbors, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Excellent pie. I used three different types of apples as that is what I had in the fridge. Followed everything else exactly, no need to change anything. It was wonderful. Will definitely make it again. I think the secret to a great apple pie could be the type of apple one uses. Needs to be tart, juicy and one that holds up well in baking, also the pie crust can make or break a great apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Instead of using caramel squares I used caramel topping in a jar...much easier than having to melt squares! I also used Granny Smith and Cortland Apples (3 cups of each) Awesome recipe thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Used new Kraft caramel bits in place of caramels. Easier than cutting up caramels. Use about 72 bits in place of the nine caramels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I have to say this is hands down the best apple pie I've ever had! I used half Grannysmith apples and half golden delicious which made for an amazing combination. the sauce was a little thin even after cooling so next time I'll double the amount of flour. If you're like me, the crust makes or breaks the pie so take the time to make your own! I used the "Never Fail Pie Crust II," recipe and it came out wonderfully flaky and delicious. this recipe makes enough for two pies(you can use 4 sticks of butter in place of shortening and add 1/2c more flour for consistency and no water)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
instead of adding extra flour try adding some uncooked tapioca maybe a tablespoon or two, it really works wonderful the tapioca thickens up the juice makes it look like pie filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Rucker, Alabama, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States