Ocean Packets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This is delicious. We use this method to prepare fish often. Hubby mentioned he would like grilled shrimp and scallops and I remembered seeing this recipe. Since we enjoy the fish so much I knew we would love this as well. Very clean, straight forward flavor from the seafood and lemon-butter. Perfect light meal for the upcoming hot evenings. The only changes we made were that we used less of each type of seafood in each serving, didn't really count the number of shrimp or mussels (used in place of clams), only placed 3 large sea scallops in each packet and 2 small pieces of corn in each. Also drizzled approx 2 Tbsp of white wine over everything before closing each. Super fast and easy with excellent results. This will be a regular weeknight dinner as well as served to impress company here this summer. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
We used small foil bread pans, and covered with foil. Also added a 1/2 (small) lobster tail, cut lengthwise to each. Increased the butter by 50% to have more liquid for boiling/steaming. Easy to prepare, awesome dish. Will add some white wine next time. Also, we garnished with parsley instead of chives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
This was easy and great. I made two packets and added half of lobster tail to each. I'm making it again this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Delicious! We skipped the mussels and just went with the shrimp and the scallops. We did just as the directions said but also added some white wine as some others had mentioned. It was probably one of the best meals I have had in a long time, including restaurants! We will definitely make this again! Thanks for the idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I scaled way back on the servings since it is only the two of us and clams are not available to me so I took the advice of the recipe submitter and used mussels instead. I also took the advice of previous reviewers and sprinkled some white wine over the top of each packet. We enjoyed this very much and I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Delicious & simple! I didn't melt the butter, just added a little pat to each packet. Also added a sprinkle of Old Ba seasoning to each. I've made this three times in a month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I was looking for a light, easy weekend grill meal and boy, did this one hit the mark! I used foil loaf pans and added about 2 T. white wine to each, as noted by other reviewers. Also added some yellow squash. Followed all other directions. Absolutely devine! Can't wait to make it again next weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Hubby said the only way to make this better is to double it! nj
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
very nice recipe! I added raw mushrooms and red skin potato quarters to the packets. I also didn't bother melting the butter. Instead of using freshly grated lemon peel, I quartered the lemons and threw them in the packets after squeezing. Next time I make this I will add muscles and season though with old bay or dill. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debbywbob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
too much liquid, but that could have been my error
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Grilling marinated shrimp makes a fast, flavorful main dish.

How to Make Bacon-Wrapped Scallops

Grilled bacon and scallops make a smoky, savory treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States