Oaxacan Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
Absolutely awsome tasting and so easy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
This recipe has all the ingredients of the carne asada I have been making for years, but not done as I was taught. With that said, I always marinate the meat, usually over night in Lemon juice , cilantro, salt, pepper to taste and of course at least one fire roasted jalapeno diced pepper. and garlic and a bit of cumin powder not seeds and be sparing as it can be over whelming. The long marinating will tenderize the meat. The fire roasting of peppers is very important as it enhances the chilies. I usually do mine in the broiler or on a grill. The tough membrane on the chili will pop and turn dark when done. Be sure to wear gloves when handling chili as it can leave you burning. Peel the membrane , open the chili and remove seeds before dicing . I always make this as a steak dinner so I am using the steak whole. Left overs are easily sliced thrown in a tortilla of choice with what ever makes you happy and voila! Carne asada tacos! Also unless I am frying my tortillas to make them crispy, I do them in a dry pan! I use a non stick or well seasoned cast iron and heat it up. In seconds you should be able to spin the tortilla and then turn it over let it warm until it spins again. I stack mine on a clean dish towel so that I can cover as I go. If the towel is on a pie pan it helps hold heat. Do several fix the tacos and repeat. This method is perfect for either corn or flour. Thanks Lola for reminding me of a well loved recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eloise Morales

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
Thank you so much for such a great recipe. I wasn't expecting to love it so much with the ingredients being so simple, but these really are good. I did make a few minor adjustments. I can't justify paying that much for meat, so I bought a 2 lb beef roast, sliced it into steaks, and then into thin strips. I then put it into a ziploc with the juice of one lime for about 20 minutes before cooking. Once I got it onto the skillet, I added onion powder, garlic salt, and black pepper. Loved the fried corn tortillas. I grew up with eating tacos that way and I still think it's the best. For toppings, I put out cilantro, the Guacamole from this site, lime wedges, fresh medium salsa, black olives, and sour cream for the kids. I loved that the meat was flavorful, but not spicy, so that we could each adjust the tacos to our own liking with the different toppings. Thank you again. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
My first love is Mexican food and this recipe was wonderful. The only issue was that the photos clearly show sliced avocado but it's not shown anywhere in the recipe. I added it anyways though because I can't imagine a Mexican meal with avocado/guacamole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
Bland as written. The meat definitely needs some taco seasoning or a home made to your own taste seasoning blend like I keep on hand and don't fry the corn tortilla. I think frying the corn tortilla changes the flavor of the masa base used to make corn tortillas. I either heat them directly on the flame or wrap them in a damp dish towel and microwave them for 30 to 45 seconds to heat and soften them. Spiced up and seasoned right makes them a 5 star taco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
Yum...but would be a little better with Skirt Steak instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
Reading reviews that people don't like the oil on a corn tortilla. Just dip the tortilla in water and fry both sides till turning color. Wrap in a towel and store in 200 degree oven if serving a crowd. No oil at all. Tastes great. This recipe rocks! Simple and good. Just like my favorite authentic taco stand tacos. Just add a squeeze of lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob Edwards

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This was a total home run. We didn't fry the tortillas but brushed them with EVOO and put them on a frying pan. This will be repeated for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Tried as written. One big flaw keeps it from being a 5. Do not fry the tortillas. Split into 2 batches of 9 or how ever many you need. Get a thin kitchen towel and put about an ounce of water on it and ring it out to spread throughout the towel. Wrap tortillas. Microwave on high for 45 seconds. Leave in towel and put in a covered dish. Repeat with others. Use as needed from there. On a personal note I cannot stand cilantro!! I used a combination of flat leaf parsley and basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
This is now my new FAVORITE meal. Reminded me of my drive thru Mexico. The flavors are phenomenal for such an easy meal. I will definately be making this over and over. - Phil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Lettuce Leaf Tacos

Delicious tacos without the tortillas.

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States