Oaxacan Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
Very simple but very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2003
YUM - great tacos! I too was nervous about the peppers but they weren't hot at all and next time I'll get a hotter chile. I cooked them with the steak though so maybe that took out some of the bite...? Anyway, thanks to the other review regarding how long to cook the tortillas, these turned out perfectly. My husband thinks I should open my own restaurant! Even my kids liked these, well, 2 out of 4! They were easy and quick to make. We loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
If you are a fan of REAL/AUTHENTIC Mexican food then you will love this one! Add some green salsa and/or freshly made pico and this is the BOMB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAMESWHO
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
Have made it 4 or 5 times and all of us just love it! This is the first time my two children would eat onions and peppers and begging for more! This is an authentic recipe which is just fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
My husband is from Mexico and these taste EXACTLY like home! I'm so excited, I want to call all my friends over to show off! If you want to try a variation of this recipe that would also be authentic, use pork instead of steak, but still have the butcher thinly slice it the same way. Then dice some pineapple for the topping (in addition to the jalepeno,onion, and cilantro.) Thank you thank you a thousand times over, I will make this recipe forever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachelle Vernon Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
This has become a regular in our house. We really love it! I usually let the meat marinate for a couple hours before cooking for added flavor. Very quick & easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
My husband and I are big fans of authentic Mexican restaurants and he was always hinting that I should be able to cook like that too. Well, you should have seen the look on his face when I made these tacos and they tasted EXACTLY like the ones we had eaten there!! Not bad for a gringo!! :-) I've tweaked the recipe a little - I buy really thinly cut pieces of meat and then cut them into small cubes (that's the way they do it at the restaurants I've had this dish in) and then I marinate the beef in some lime juice and salt and pepper first. I also cook the onions and pepper for a few minutes before adding the beef and cilantro and leave some raw for garnish. I also make the pico de gallo recipe on this site to serve with it. It's also not bad served with flour tortillas if you want to avoid the oil from frying the corn tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2003
LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2003
These are so tasty! They taste just like the ones we used to buy from a street vender. They're so easy! I use a lot less jalapeno and lots of cilantro and lime. I made it one night and my hubby liked it so much he asked for it the next night, but the only beef we had in the house was ground, and it worked great with that. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Peterson Bohland

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
These tacos were the best tacos I have ever made. The fried tortillas and cilantro mix made the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Grilled Pork Tacos al Pastor

Pineapple juice, chiles, and spices make a terrific marinade for grilled pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States