Oaxacan Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
This was very good. Instead of onions I used pico de gallo that I found the recipe for here also. But I really liked it, is very authentic. Not really a dish for little ones though unless they like onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
My husband and I LOVE this recipe!. The simplicity of flavors is wonderful. At first I was worried about the jalapeno being too hot (first time making authenic mexican food) but, it wasn't at all. The lime was delicious and we added cumin and a touch of garlic salt when frying the meat. I get compliments from everyone that I serve this to..who KNOWS how authentic mexican food should taste like---that would be my in-laws. Flour tortillas, sour cream and chi chi's salsa have no place in a dish like this. Serve with Goya Arroz con Frijoles Negros y Coronas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
Being from the Northeast I never ate much Mexican but when I briefly lived in the Midwest I learned to make these sort of tacos. The locals called them tortillas but I later found out the tortilla was just the corn wrapping and not the name of the dish. We made them with all the usual taco fillings like seasoned hamburg, lettuce and tomato, onions, cheese, sour cream and taco sauce. The secret is the soft corn tortilla that you do not fry until it is crunchy but rather until it is limp and pliable. It frys very fast. Plop one at a time in the hot oil. It will puff up, then turn it. When it puffs again remove it immediately to drain the oil on a paper towel. The dish known as soft tacos is usually made with the already soft flour tortilla. I way love these soft corn tortillas better than those and the crunchy corn type.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
This recipe is exceptional! The flavors blend together to make a mouth watering flavor. I was pleased with how good it is, plus it's so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Banshee Hews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Goffstown, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
I loved this. My husband loved this. My friend loved this as well. She made it for all of her friends the next day. Very good. We cooked the onion and jalapenos with the meet and added the cilantro later. We also did not fry our flour tortillas, to much fat that way. But it was wonderful. I love cilantro, it makes everything better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
WOW! Who knew that these bundles of lightly seasoned steak tacos would be so flavorful! I was doubtful that it would taste so good but I was wrong! I wasn't able to find corn tortillas so I purchased flour instead. I was SCARED of the jalapenos (I DON'T like hot food... rather I can't eat hot food comfortably) but they were fantastic! The lime and cilantro are the keys to the flavor in my opinion and since I love both I added a little extra on my tacos then my husband's. I also couldn't help myself but purchased a 5 layer "Mexican" party dip that had salsa, cheese, sour cream, guacamole and diced tomatoes and added 2 spoonfuls to top off the tacos. Just wonderful! Met and exceeded my requirements for a weekday family meal which are easy to make, YUMMY, and fast to cook! My Texan husband was quite pleased with them so I take that as a sign that these are up to par. :) I definitely will be making this again in the very near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
These were terrible. Way too much oil to fry tortillas and cilantro and lime were not enough to make these taste like anything. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
I really liked this recipe but I altered it somewhat. I did not fry the tortillas, just used them soft. And I cooked my onions with the steak, and then tossed the steak & onions, w/the salt, pepper and lime juice in a bowl and let it sit in the fridge for half an hour. The steak just cooked in oil by itself did not have much taste. Also I added shredded cheddar cheese and put homemade guacamole in my taco. Next time, and I WILL make it again, it was yummy, I will use flank steat b/c the cut the recipe calls for is so much more expensive. Thank you Lola, I enjoyed this meal and can't wait for my leftovers tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
Tasted great, but just a note to inexperienced cooks like myself: wear gloves when you chop the jalapenos! I didn't know any better, and chopped them up with my bare hands. My hands were painfully burning for hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2003
Very good. I cooked the meat until pink was not visible on the surface of the meat, removed it from the skillet, then cooked the onion until it started to soften, added the meat, jalapenos, cilantro, s & p and stirred it around for 30 seconds. Yummy. We liked it with sour cream, not so Mexican but just what we like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Sheets

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States