Oaxacan Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
A friend told me these Tacos were "better than sex"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Frazier

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dighton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I don't know if I just made this wrong but it had no flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Great steak taco / fajita type recipe. Something different than the usual stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gizmo Gadgetron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
So perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Very authentic! My husband and I had tacos like this from this man who sold real mexican food from his food truck. The first bite and we were hooked! We now have named this guy "Taco Dude" and purchased his food at least twice a week. We have sinced moved and longed for those tacos. I think we have found the replica of "Taco Dude's" recipe! THANX!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Thanks so much for posting your recipe! These are very much like the tacos we get from the "taco truck" whenever we're in Marshalltown, IA. Yes, we have to travel to the heartland of the USA to get a decent taco, LOL. The family who runs the truck - It's like a "roach coach", but with a full kitchen inside - adds just a scant sprinkle of crumbled queso fresco and serves the tacos with big slices of lightly sauteed seasoned carrot and a wedge of lime on the side. I only tweaked this recipe ever-so-slightly to get it to taste like the taco truck tacos. Marinated the beef in mojo criollo before slicing and cooking quickly in a HOT cast-iron skillet. This puts a slight crust on the beef, caramalizing the mojo and beef juices. Let the skillet cool a little before tossing the sliced carrots in there with a squeeze of lime juice mixed with a little sugar and a sprinkle of oregano. You only want enough sugar to counteract the sourness of the lime and enhance the natural sweetness of the carrot. The carrots should be more crispy than tender; they barely touch the skillet. Be generous with the cilantro in the tacos... the light,cool flavor contrasts beautifully with the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Fabulous dish! My husband said this might have been my 'best dinner yet' - and if you look at how many recipes I've reviewed, that's saying a lot! :) Served with the Black Bean & Salsa soup from this site and some cold Coronas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flower Fan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Seriously the best tacos. I grew up on california and now live in manhattan where its impossible to find $1.50 tacos like they have in ca. These are as close, if not better than the ones I get in ca.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Delicious. Just delicious. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAKROBERTS5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Excellent and Easy! Very refreshing blend of flavors. I followed several of the review suggestions 1)Added a little dry fajita seasoning to steak, will add again. 2) Also liked mixing the onions, jalapeños, cilantro and a little lime into a relish. Then added extra lime when assembled. 3) Heated the corn tortillas in foil in a 350º oven for 10 mins to lower the calories. Tasted fine, but tortillas fell apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Lettuce Leaf Tacos

Delicious tacos without the tortillas.

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States