Oaxacan Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
These are my new favorite mexican food. I got a recipe very similar to this from my sister, who got it from her Mexican neighbors. I cut the steak into little cubes and brown it with season salt, lime and granulated garlic. I serve it on the softened tortillas with diced sweet onion, cilantro, shredded cabbage and a squeeze of lime. My 11 year old son can't get enough of them. He ate 6 of them. I will be making a huge batch for a family get together with mexican rice and black beans. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
This is an awesome recipe! I marinated my steak overnight in lime juice. I cooked the steak through, then drained the juice, added in the onion and jalapeno, and cooked just until the onions were slightly soft(my husband is not a fan of cold onions!)and the steak was slightly crispy. I served with the cilantro and lime juice, and added a couple of avacados mashed with a little lime juice. Lola's Horchata from this site topped it off perfectly!! Rave, rave reviews!! ***Made this with chicken...just as good!!***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAKYNI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Piqua, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
these were pretty good and different than the usual ground beef, lettuce, cheese and salsa hard shell tacos. I would make them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I am so excited about this recipe! Ik....being from Pennsylvania Dutch Country....this is definitely something I was skeptical to try. It just didn't fit what I know in my mind as a Taco....but I read the reviews and thought.....well I might as well go for it! Wow wow was I ever thrilled. I kept thinking to myself that there had to be more to it....but it's simple to make..like 10 minutes...the flavor is different to my taste buds....keeping in mind that east coast has no clue what a street taco tastes like...so I just have to say this is delicious. I'm so excited that the family loved it and just the fact I tried something new...this recipe is so great. I will be making these again tonight since I still have the ingredients handy. This meat and potatoes gal found something that really is a hit!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conestoga, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pequea, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
These are AMAZING! I'm not sure what authentic tacos taste like, but surely this must be it. I made these as-is with only the addition of fresh avocado slices. YUM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
awesome!! we didn't change a thing! thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben Foz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Miltonvale, Kansas, USA
Living In: Clay Center, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I cut the steak into small cubes instead of strips, sprinkled some Lawry's Seasoned Salt and then squeezed fresh lime juice to marinade. Tends to give off liquid when cooking, so I cooked the meat until just cooked through, then drained it and returned it to the pan for a couple of minutes to brown, adding some more seasoned salt and ground pepper. The combo of onions, jalepenos and cilantro was delicious, but it is also very good if you add lettuce and tomatoes to the mix. Very tasty tacos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
These are the best authentic tacos you can enjoy. Easy to make and you can't stop with one or two, I ate twice as much as any taco receta made before. Truly incredible tacos all will love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PacNWCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Yorba Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Really good!!! Oh and very easy...A+!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
If my steak hadn't turned out super tough, this would have been a five-star recipe. I think I would have preferred to grill the steak and then slice it up. Otherwise the flavors were really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpyC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Grilled Pork Tacos al Pastor

Pineapple juice, chiles, and spices make a terrific marinade for grilled pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States