Oaxacan Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
It didn't seem like from the simple ingredients that this recipe could have as much flavor as it did, but it was delicious. A fresh, vibrant flavor--we enjoyed this dish very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Fun change to the normal American taco. I'm not a huge fan of corn tortillas though. I honestly think I'd like these better on a flour tortilla. I know that isn't "traditional"..it's just truth! I love the lime and spice together. I think I'd like some fresh red and yellow peppers thrown in the mix too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
it was quite good...i did forget to add the salt and pepper and it still came out quite tasty! i didnt have vegetable oil so i used canola oil instead...while preparing the tacos i did find that 4 limes was a bit excessive...in fact i thought two was plenty...there was no spice at all since the jalapenos were seeded...if you want spice keep at least some of the seeds...if not you could substitute green peppers for the jalapenos...and just because we like them we added cheese, sour cream and salsa...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dumbee cooks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Eveleth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cloquet, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Fast and easy to make! Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amber Abbitt
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
The meat seemed a little bland. When I make this again, I will use brisket and add a some spices during the cooking process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Abbitt

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Combes, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This was excellent! I used thinly sliced flank steak and marinated it for an hour. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Phenomenal! Great with a white creme sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Indeed, the other reviewers were right, this recipe had surprising flavor. The wife and I were skeptics in the beginning, thinking the lack of cumin, cayenne, and chili powder would make this bland. The lime, salt, pepper on the steak was the right combination. The jalapenos add just the kick it needed. We served with shredded chedderella, tobasco (for extra heat), and onion/tomato to balance out the heat. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
My husband is Mexican, and this is the way that tacos are really made. This is the kind of taco sold in restaurants and by street or market vendors; this is about as authentic as it gets. For additional flavor, serve with salsa verde, not Old El Paso or Pace. Salsa verde is the real stuff, and you can find the recipe on the site. The reviewers who said that this was bland and awful were probably expecting Americanized tacos: hard shells, ground beef cooked with taco seasoning, salsa, shredded cheese, lettuce, and sour cream. While there is nothing wrong with the Americanized variety, this is not what you should expect when you try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
These really are fantastic. (Granted there is room for improvement.) Definitely good when you are in a time crunch, as they are easily made and cooked. This would also be good for family taco night or Mexican Night! Kids love themed dinners, and this would be great for that! You should try adding some Oaxacan Cheese to really give it the Oaxacan taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icookwithglitter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States