Oaxacan Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I loved the simplicity of this. I was skeptical at first, given that you don't marinate or cook the meat in any spices. The flavor combinations were amazing and very authentic! We added avocado, and for the low-carb eaters, we used lettuce wraps instead of tortillas. This is now one of our family's stand-by recipes, and great for week nights in the heat of the summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
I made these tonight and they were a hit with my family! I took another reviewer's advice and marinated the meat in lime juice, salt and pepper for about 15 minutes. I cooked the onion and a red bell pepper with the meat, since I didn't think my kids would eat raw veggies on tacos. Then we added the jalepeno and cilantro right before serving. I also used half corn and half flour tortillas since I didn't have enough corn tortillas. Both were good, though the corn was better. My kids and hubby were surprised that their tacos didn't need cheese, sour cream or any other regular taco fixings. I'll definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Delicious but I like to cut the beef and marinate in lime juice,black pepper and garlic before cooking. Also I prefer wrapping a stack of tortillas in a damp towel and zapping in microwave to frying them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dezzie
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
My favorite taco recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dezzie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Straight from the Heart of Mexico, where simple ingredients come together to make great food. While these may seem plain, it’s the lime juice that is key to the authentic flavor so be sure and give it a good squeeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Delicious!!! Nice change from Americanized tacos. The only change I made was to marinate the strips in lime and minced garlic for 20 minutes. Even my picky hubby said they tasted great. Thanks for the recipe Lola!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I marinated the steak in 1/2 bottle of dark beer, 1 lime, salt and 2 tsps of chopped garlic for 2 hrs. I also put the tortillas in aluminum foil in the oven, instead of cooking in oil. Used the rest of the recipe and it was awesome!!!! The flavors were so fresh and no one could get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
We love this recipe. We marinate the meat with this recipe: allrecipes fajita marinade simple and excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Simple but tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxxx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Really good. We don't fry our tortillas becuase we don't want to eat grease. We simply plug in our skillet and warm them until maleable. Also, try Mrs. Renfro's salsa with jalapenos in it (green). Then it will be a truly Oaxacan taco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pritty1npink

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 11-20 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Lettuce Leaf Tacos

Delicious tacos without the tortillas.

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States