Oaty Cereal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I made these in preparation for hurricane Irene for the kids to have a yummy snack in case the power went out -- I've made these every weekend since! The kids adore them, and it's so easy and quick to make. I love that it uses peanut butter (I've tried it with creamy and crunchy and they both work great) and Cheerios. It seems like we always have Cheerios to use up, and this would work great for the stale ones sitting in the pantry, haha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: California, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sonuahua Compton
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
awesome recipe, easy to tweak, I used 2 cups of krispies, and 1 cup of fruity krispies in the first batch for the kiddos, The second batch lowcarb for my Mom and me, substituting 1/2 cup splenda for the sugar and "sugarfree" honey/sugar free "maple" syrup 50/50 and unsweetened wheat puffs, I suggest toasting the wheat puffs in the oven for 10 minutes first if you want them more crispy. These adjustment cut the carbs almost 75%!!! Oh happy day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
After reading all the great reviews I'm surprised to say we didn't like these. I have a big sweet tooth but I have to say these were WAY too sweet, even for me. My kids were excited when I told them I was making these, but they even said they're too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Kids loved these! I halved the sugar but didn't double the rest of the recipe. Then I used an 8x8 pan instead of 9x13. It turned out plenty sweet and thick enough to be bars. I also used Oh's instead of cheerios. I'll definitely be making these for school-time breakfasts and snacks. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Excellent! so simple and tasty. I use whole grain oats, also throw in chocolate chips or cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
If making in a 9 x 13 pan, definitely double the recipe. I customized it this way: replaced 1/2 the sugar with xylitol sweetener (natural low calorie sweetener), agave instead of honey (use half of what is called for because agave is sweeter). I replaced 1/2 the cereal with Go Lean Crunch, then added dried fruit and a sprinkle of mini chocolate chips. Delicious! For easy spreading, spoon mixture into pan, cover with foil or wax paper and press with hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christie in mt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Was hesitant due to some of the sweetness reviews, but this is good! Double all ingredients except the sugar...use 1/3 c...use 9x13 pan. (I also stirred in a few mini-choc chips when the pb mix cooled a bit.) Kids loved 'em...hubby raved. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFWife88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I don't know what I did wrong. :( I was so excited by all the reviews but these came out SO sweet! I doubled the recipe as others suggested, to fit a 9 x 13 pan. I followed the recipe exactly and they were a great consistency but WAY too sweet! Definite sugar rush if you eat these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
The taste was good, but it was too skimpy an amount for a 9x13 pan. I've had these before, and they were always thick, maybe an inch thick. Some other recipes scale the amount to 10 cups of cereal for a pan! I like the idea, but I'll try a recipe with lots more cereal next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMWILSON98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
This one scored big with my kids, and it was a great way to use up the cereal they dont like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States